Page 1 of 1

ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 3:37 pm
by andersm
Hello,

I cant seem to make a Sierra Wireless 320U USB LTE dongle work under ROS 6.3

I had no issues with the card under 5.xx, it appeared as a ppp device, and has worked perfectly on many deployed routers.

Since upgrading to ROS 6.3 it now appears as an LTE device. I cant "Scan" or get "Info" from the device.

Is this device no longer supported under 6.3 or am I missing something?

I have a lot of units active in the field, and would be a pain if they wont work under 6.xx

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Andy.

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:22 pm
by pcunite
Try the new v6.4 version.
http://www.mikrotik.com/download

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:38 pm
by uldis
if you do not like the LTE method for those card you can disable that by going into the 'port firmware' and select 'yes' for ignore-directip-modem setting.

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:34 pm
by andersm
Thanks uldis!

Your suggestion worked perfectly! :)

Cheers,

Andy

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:39 am
by PiVi
Hello - you use any special firmware with Sierra U320 ?


On hardware supported list is:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Supported_Hardware

Sierra Wireless AirCard 320U [97] v6.0
Vendor/product id pair should be 0x0f3d/0x68AA and DirectIP firmware loaded on the modem.
USB


PiVi

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:26 pm
by andersm
PiVi,

I have just used it with the stock Telstra firmware.

Noticed they are now badged "Netgear" but seem to still work without the directIP connection.

I'll check what firmware its running tomorrow.

Cheers,
Andy

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:31 am
by RogerWilco
The 320U has worked since 5.4 using PPP connection.
It still doesn't work with LTE/DirectIP
Vendor/product id pair should be 0x0f3d/0x68AA and DirectIP firmware loaded on the modem.
.
I have no idea who put that on the Wiki. It doesn't even make sense. The drivers are not in the modem and never have been.
if you do not like the LTE method for those card you can disable that by going into the 'port firmware' and select 'yes' for ignore-directip-modem setting.
You have to, the modem gets stuck otherwise. I've posted it about it before. Just search for "320U".

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:37 am
by PiVi
Hello,

I just got my modem 320U Sierra Wireles
if you do not like the LTE method for those card you can disable that by going into the 'port firmware' and select 'yes' for ignore-directip-modem setting.
Where is this configuration ?
In modem settings or in Mikrotik system ?
Where exactly/specifically ?
The 320U has worked since 5.4 using PPP connection.
It still doesn't work with LTE/DirectIP

On ppp metod SW 320U works only in HSDPA/HSDPA+/3G mode ?
Not LTE ? (sorry if this is stupid question - i dont have knowledge about cell transmission).

Any chance to compatybile LTE USB modem not Hi-Link (without second NAT) ?!?
Im looking for modem LTE - but only modem.
All Hi-Link devices this is routers - not modems.

PE

Re: ROS 6.3 + Sierra 320U USB LTE. how do you make it work?

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:00 am
by RogerWilco
Where is this configuration ?
In modem settings or in Mikrotik system ?
Where exactly/specifically ?
Open WinBox and go to System -> Ports on the left hand side. Then click the 'Firmware' button. Uncheck the box, then reboot.
On ppp metod SW 320U works only in HSDPA/HSDPA+/3G mode ?
Not LTE ? (sorry if this is stupid question - i dont have knowledge about cell transmission).
The modem WILL connect to a 4G network, it won't be able to get speeds above 12-14mbps.
Any chance to compatybile LTE USB modem not Hi-Link (without second NAT) ?!?
Im looking for modem LTE - but only modem.
All Hi-Link devices this is routers - not modems.

PE
I have no idea what any of that means.