Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kazim
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:39 pm

Automatic link fail-over

Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:58 am

hi,

I am using Mikrotik Cloud Router. I have connected my router with two connection. primary is fiber and seconadary is Wifi on WAN side.
And on lan side hotspot is configured for 6 ports.i want to use one connection at a time. for example fiber.
Now i want that when fiber down after 5 timeout automatic link shift to WIFI and when the fiber up it shift to fiber automatically.
if any one have idea.kindly help me. i shall be very thankful.
 
User avatar
nick3dos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Automatic link fail-over

Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:52 pm

in your ip -> routes add two new routes for default gateway, one for your fiber with distance=1 and one for your wifi with distance=2, so everytime fiber gateway is down, it will automatically shift to your wifi gateway, and when your fiber gateway is back again automatically it will change back to your main gateway.
 
kazim
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:39 pm

Re: Automatic link fail-over

Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:16 pm

I am using two interface for that. one for fiber and one wifi.It will work on that. distance 1 for fiber and distance 2 for wifi.

I will do that and then will reply you

thanks
 
kazim
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:39 pm

Re: Automatic link fail-over

Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:16 pm

hi,

Its not shifting automatically because the fiber gateway is up and net was down from third hope.
 
User avatar
nick3dos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Automatic link fail-over

Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:25 pm

hi,

Its not shifting automatically because the fiber gateway is up and net was down from third hope.
Then you have to do it with a script-scheduler.

You have to check the main gateway ip, of the fiber gateway, by ping command.
If not ping to this ip, then change to your second gateway.
If ping is ok, then change to your main fiber gateway.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ccmks, FurfangosFrigyes, Google [Bot], solar77 and 190 guests