Page 1 of 1

L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:12 pm
by reactive
I'm trying to replace a RB1100 with a new CCR and I am having problems moving across the config for an L3 MPLS VPN as per http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:La ... PN_example

When I updated the RB1100 to 6.3 the L3 VPN stops working but works perfectly when downgraded to 5.25 again. I've also tested the CCR using 6.4 and wasn't able to get it to pass traffic. I can verify that MPLS/LDP all checks out and BGP is distributing the routes correctly. It appears that when the VRF is applied to an interface it just stops forwarding traffic. Ping from the CE to PE work but the CE cannot ping any other addresses upstream of the router. On the router I can ping anywhere on the L3 VPN network fine by doing 'ping 192.168.0.254 routing-table=custTable1'. Where 192.168.0.254 is a CE a few hops away. It just appears like the VRF is broken and isn't applying the customers routing table to the interface.

I have already submitted a ticket but haven't had a response after a week (#2013090566000096). Can anyone shed some light on this?
I'm thinking I might just convert it over to an MPLS VPLS but it's a fair bit of work just to get around a bug.

Thanks all
-Matt

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:52 pm
by realtime
Hi. I found the same problem with ros 6.x !
I get a problem when i running MPLS VPN setup. I think the problem is in the mpls package.
My post is http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=76804

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:52 am
by nz_monkey
A bunch of us are having issues with L3VPN on RouterOS: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=73820

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:43 am
by realtime
So dramatically with software??
** MY Story about buying of CCR1036
For more stability and higher performance of our network we bought crc1036. But this one came with 6.x software.
Now what can we do with this device???
We can’t use normaly not Queues not BGP + MPLS… only NAT and Firewall!
?? Even there isn’t WiFi on it for using as AP bridge :))))
May be you can build 5.26 version for professional useing of this device still repairing bugs of 6.x????

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Sat Sep 21, 2013 6:57 am
by Geeek
Estou com o mesmo problema e mesmo com a versao 5.26 nao esta estavel, funciona ate o router rebootar e entrar no modo bypass, meus routers sao todos RB 1100x2 AH.
Esta Dificil Mikrotik!

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:39 pm
by realtime
Hi Geeek

L3VPN network on version 5.26 works perfectly. check your configurations.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:28 pm
by nz_monkey
Hi Geeek

L3VPN network on version 5.26 works perfectly. check your configurations.
What happens when you withdraw a group of routes ? Is this reflected in the routing tables of your PE routers ?

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:29 am
by samsung172
vrf issues is finaly fixed. At least it works for me.

6.5rc1 is working.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:04 pm
by nz_monkey
Great to hear. Maris emailed me yesterday with test version but I have not had a chance to test it yet. Im optimistically hoping this will fix the problems for us too.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:12 pm
by Kreacher
@realtime
As I am right informed the RouterOS v. 6.x L6 is the first version for the Tilera Tile Gx platform so there
was no other version before you where able to install! Is this right? If not correct me please!

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:28 am
by SamWCL
Great to hear. Maris emailed me yesterday with test version but I have not had a chance to test it yet. Im optimistically hoping this will fix the problems for us too.
Did it work?

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:19 pm
by samsung172
I do now run 6.5rc1 at a bounch of routers, and its working great here. MPLS-VPLS-OSPF-BGP with VRF.
routeros6.5rc1.png

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:10 am
by nz_monkey
Great to hear. Maris emailed me yesterday with test version but I have not had a chance to test it yet. Im optimistically hoping this will fix the problems for us too.
Did it work?
Test regime:

Test1 (PASS)
Insert ~50 routes in to a VRF and withdraw/re-insert every 30 minutes 10 times, ensure routes are accurately withdrawn and router does not crash (CPU spike/reboot)

Test2 (PASS)
Ensure routes are leaking accurately between VRF's

Test3 (TO-DO)
Cluster Route-Reflectors and ensure routes are carried but not looped

I have completed Test1 and Test2 and it has passed. I will perform 3 later today (need to capture raw BGP packets to ensure cluster ID is correct).

Normally Test1 fails after the second or third withdrawal attempt with CPU on the PE routers hitting 100% and the routers becoming unresponsive, so things are looking positive.

Hopefully 6.5 is released this week, otherwise our next change window is in March 2014 :?


Thanks to the support staff, developers and management at Mikrotik for putting time in to solving this long standing problem.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:46 am
by realtime
Kreacher
Yes, you are right. for tiles gx cpu mikrotik build only 6.x os.
... this is cpu features http://www.tilera.com/sites/default/fil ... 02_web.pdf
this is very good cpu, with 36cores and 12MB of total cache, 64bit arch. look to Networking Interfaces
• Four 10 Gbps XAUI ports, • Up to sixteen 10/100/1000 • Egress QoS queuing and traffic shaping support and more ..
But this is only hardware features of this CPU. I think in mikrotik OS this functions realized as software emulation.
6.x os has many problems, and must be repaired many times. For professional use of this version is incompatable with service quality.
5.26 version is more stable and final. But can't installed to CCR with tile cpu. hehe :)
samsung172
6.5rc1 I tested too. OSPF + BGP + MPLS + VPLS and BGP VPLS works without any problem!

Who tested the queues for CCR1036-12G-4S?

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:20 pm
by normis
realtime - give us more info what is not working well in v6.5. we will then fix those issues.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:18 pm
by realtime
hello Normis!

this is the copy of email
Hello Maris.
I have a bad news about queues in 6.4 package. One simple queue can downgrade system speed.
I turned on only one simple queue in my CCR1036-12G-4S ros 6.4 two days ago.
After that I recieved many cals from my clients about low speed. It was true. All bandwith was down more than 20%! But cpu usage is only 5%.
I disabled this queue today and bandwith was up. I'm shoked!
A little about my network. I use in my local net 172.16.0.0/12 10.10.0.0/16 10.20.0.0/16 subnets. All traffic was 250Mbit / 1000 clients.
for 10.20.0.0/16 I made simple queue (about 80 clients or 8% of all bandwith) with PCQ type and /29 mask.
On this moment I replaced this queue to another server on PC with mikrotik 5.26 whithout any problem.
What's the happened?
I saw that cpu usage on CCR1036 ... not more that 5% ? may be this 5% equals to 100% ??.. and i tested this. look at attached files
Quad core Intel 2.4Ghz 8Mb cache with DDR2 512Mb ram VS 36 core 1.2Ghz 4Gb DDR3 ram VS SXT with 400Mhz
And if 400Mhz mipsbe gives 20Mbit of tcp, then 36 core with 1200Mhz must give 1200/400 * 36 *20Mbit = 108 * 20Mbit = 2160Mbit ?

Best Regards

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:22 pm
by Kreacher
@realtime
Yes, you are right. for tiles gx cpu mikrotik build only 6.x os.
Surely it where perhaps better also to start with a version named v5.x that not
all peoples would have the v5.x back for the CCR series! But good to know for them
for the next time I think!
this is very good cpu, with 36cores and 12MB of total cache, 64bit arch.
I consider the CPU series from Tilera the Tile Gx series I mean is very interesting for such a
company likes MikroTik is!
But this is only hardware features of this CPU. I think in mikrotik OS this functions realized as software emulation.
Half and half I think so, because some of the today features and functions from RouterOS must only be
programmed to be use able with the Tile Gx platform, other options that are given by the Tile Gx platform
must even be coded new or totally new things must be coded to inserting them into RouterOS, it is hearing
like being the same, but in my personal opinion only nearly like that.
6.x os has many problems, and must be repaired many times. For professional use of this version is incompatable with service quality.
But ok there fore MikroTik was announcing it as not ready for the productive networks only for lab and/or testing
fields! So nobody can complain on it, until all is done and renewed or reprogrammed, ready to use this fine piece
of hardware by unlocking all his real given power and options! I think if ROS os ready to use all the given hardware
capabilities it must be a great router and all the routers based on this hardware comes than with much better VPN
capabilities using the build in encryption engine called MiCA without any trouble and low latencies.
5.26 version is more stable and final. But can't installed to CCR with tile cpu. hehe
For sure and I want even more a version that is running stable and fast on the Tile Gx platform
and not the older system only driven through the compiler and with all known bugs and what ever else.
So I think this is a very good position for MikroTik if your compare the price and by the platform given
capabilities and options it would be great if all is finished on this device!

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:04 pm
by realtime
Kreacher
Yes!
hope, wait and help each other!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M97vR2V4vTs
Normis and all MikroTik team - THANK YOU!

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:59 am
by nz_monkey
Kreacher / realtime your last few posts do not seem to be remotely related to the topic. Or am I mistaken ?

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:50 pm
by realtime
As I see L3VPN problem solved in 6.5rc1.
I'll create a new post about problem with queues.

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:41 am
by reactive
Is it possible to get a link to the 6.5RC1 package so I'm able to test it out?

Sounds very positive from everyone's testing! Great work guys.

EDIT: Found it!
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.5rc1.npk

Re: L3 MPLS VPN not working in 6.3, 6.4

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:14 pm
by normis
Is it possible to get a link to the 6.5RC1 package so I'm able to test it out?

Sounds very positive from everyone's testing! Great work guys.

EDIT: Found it!
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.5rc1.npk
better use this, it's newer: http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... le-6.5.npk