Community discussions

MikroTik App

Cougar281
Topic Author

New to ROuterOS - suggestions for *good* learning material?

Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:00 am

As the title says, I'm new to RouterOS. I've been in IT for almost 15 years, and have a lot of time with Cisco PIX and ASA firewalls, Watchguard, some Sonicwall, all of the consumer routers, pfSense, IPCop and probably a few I can't think of... But RouterOS is unlike anything else I've worked with.

I've read through about 75% of 'RouterOS by Example', but I'm still rather lost, primarily with regards to chains and how to set them up. Exactly how to set up the wireless in a device such as the 951-2n is also on my 'lost' list.

Can anyone recommend some good resources that'll help me understand how chains work and such? I could go through examples and copy them, but it doesn't help me grasp how they work. The problem with books such as 'RouterOS by Example' and 'Learn RouterOS' is they're expensive - If you're looking to install and support RouterOS as a business, then they make sense, but as someone interested in learning it and deploying less than six devices, it doesn't make a lot of sense to spend more than the cost of the device on each of the books available...

nawshad
Trainer
Trainer

Re: New to ROuterOS - suggestions for *good* learning materi

Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:34 pm

Dear friend

have you visited http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Main_Page
and also visit http://www.tiktube.com/

you will get best learning material. good luck.

pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sat Sep 28, 2013 3:00 am

I came from IPCop and I love RouterOS. I've found Greg Sowell's videos helpful. I've posted my settings below. Study them and they'll give you a good start.

1. Initial generic setup:
http://pastebin.com/QCKcMqew

2. Firewall setup

ros code

#Router and internal network protection, no internal servers, LAN is friendly
/ip firewall filter