Community discussions

 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

mesh.. soooo unstable!

Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:40 pm

Hi, I've got a WDS Mesh With Bridge with rstp on bridges with 7 antennas on static wds mesh mode [dynamic is worst] and the performance suuuck, sometimes the "nodes" just drop off the air and return when they feel like it

and the system seems to make the worst! signal the root, example:
best signal = path cost 90, root path cost 253 ---alternate port
second best signal = path cost 117, root path cost 189 ---root port

so in this case, the one with the worst or second worst signal got made the root port!! woooow, is there a way to change this

ros 6.3
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 1:09 am

prioritize in your rstp setup.
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 1:13 am

prioritize in your rstp setup.
wish I knew how
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:45 am

well. It could be complicated. but to try in a simple way, try to make the perfered route. start at 1000 at your root (gateway), and set 2000 to fisrt device, 3000 to second, 4000 to third etc. If multipath. try to see as a circle with more rings.. put devices in the same "ring" at same priority

EG:
r1-r2-r3

1000-2000-3000

R1-R2 and R3, R2 and R3 - R4

1000-2000-2000-3000
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:18 am

well. It could be complicated. but to try in a simple way, try to make the perfered route. start at 1000 at your root (gateway), and set 2000 to fisrt device, 3000 to second, 4000 to third etc. If multipath. try to see as a circle with more rings.. put devices in the same "ring" at same priority

EG:
r1-r2-r3

1000-2000-3000

R1-R2 and R3, R2 and R3 - R4

1000-2000-2000-3000
my wds mesh setup have static wds ap's set, but the rstp bridges is on automatic, I need to find a way to put it on manual i guess
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:44 am

for rstp ports you also can set manual path-cost and also by lowering the main routers priority to a lower one to make it as a root-bridge.
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:56 pm

for rstp ports you also can set manual path-cost and also by lowering the main routers priority to a lower one to make it as a root-bridge.
OK, just found out, the bridge path cost and stuff needs to be dynamic, but I need a better method then now, I want the thing to connect to highest Tx/Rx rate, not the worst signal available like now that sometimes result in 600ms or timeout, can't someone at mikrotik just add something there for more control please??

or add more factors in the system that determines the best path
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:31 pm

something to consider:
Uptime + highest tx/rx signal + highest tx/rx rate + ...maybe the little packet flood thing that determines the max bandwidth

I think if you guys can add that, it will improve the system by far! or give the user options to select that will influence the "root path cost" values, so that we can at least have a more stable wds mesh networks, and I'm only talking about wds meshes .....

"WDS Mode: static mesh" and "WDS Default Bridge:XXX" with rstp enabled, that works fine for me, dynamic mesh... no thank you!

rstp on ethenet works fine
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:25 am

well. It could be complicated. but to try in a simple way, try to make the perfered route. start at 1000 at your root (gateway), and set 2000 to fisrt device, 3000 to second, 4000 to third etc. If multipath. try to see as a circle with more rings.. put devices in the same "ring" at same priority

EG:
r1-r2-r3

1000-2000-3000

R1-R2 and R3, R2 and R3 - R4

1000-2000-2000-3000
my wds mesh setup have static wds ap's set, but the rstp bridges is on automatic, I need to find a way to put it on manual i guess

Still possible to do the "prio" to AP's. It don't matter. BTW, in a mesh wds network, set a minimum allowed signal to connect.
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:34 am

well. It could be complicated. but to try in a simple way, try to make the perfered route. start at 1000 at your root (gateway), and set 2000 to fisrt device, 3000 to second, 4000 to third etc. If multipath. try to see as a circle with more rings.. put devices in the same "ring" at same priority

EG:
r1-r2-r3

1000-2000-3000

R1-R2 and R3, R2 and R3 - R4

1000-2000-2000-3000
my wds mesh setup have static wds ap's set, but the rstp bridges is on automatic, I need to find a way to put it on manual i guess

Still possible to do the "prio" to AP's. It don't matter. BTW, in a mesh wds network, set a minimum allowed signal to connect.
Hmm, I tried that ~1month ago, what a mess that was, didn't work at all as I wished, the thing just kept on ignoring my signal level rule, so I just left it on -120 setting
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:06 pm

LOL ..I still need someone to help me with this major issue? :(

Why does the AP drop when it connects to new WDS AP ???

but there's no drop when it connects to the alternate port, its lame
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:48 am

How do you configure your rstp and "connect list". This should work if setup correctly.
 
Ehman
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: mesh.. soooo unstable!

Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:40 am

How do you configure your rstp and "connect list". This should work if setup correctly.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Wireless_WDS_Mesh
Model 2 : Wireless WDS Mesh With Bridge Interface

exactly the same bridge config, the only difference is, I use [WDS MODE:static mesh] and I've entered all my mac addresses of my AP's under interfaces as WDS on all AP's, and that's it ...static mesh causes less flooding each time a WDS AP join's my network, it causes a chain reaction of flooding... :?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests