Page 1 of 1

ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:13 am
by wsgtrsys
IPv6 NAT support with kernel 3.7

routeros When can adding that feature?

http://lwn.net/Articles/514087/

Test-funtoo ~ # uname -a
Linux Test-funtoo 3.9.0-gentoo #1 SMP Fri May 3 22:47:49 CST 2013 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Test-funtoo ~ # ip6tables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
Test-funtoo ~ # ip6tables-save
# Generated by ip6tables-save v1.4.18 on Wed May 15 22:00:03 2013
*nat
:PREROUTING ACCEPT [0:0]
:INPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
:OUTPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
:POSTROUTING ACCEPT [0:0]
-A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
COMMIT
# Completed on Wed May 15 22:00:03 2013

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:23 am
by jandafields
Mikrotik uses kernel 3.3.5

I seriously doubt they will update that kernel version significantly until they release mikrotik 7.x

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:24 pm
by Buster2
Why should you need any kind of NAT in IPv6? Protecting users from incoming connections? That will do any rule like "drop incoming connection if not related to any outgoing connection from client ip" you can built in iptables and ROS since ages.

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:17 am
by jandafields
Why should you need any kind of NAT in IPv6? Protecting users from incoming connections? That will do any rule like "drop incoming connection if not related to any outgoing connection from client ip" you can built in iptables and ROS since ages.
Maybe greedy ISP's are only giving out a handful of IPv6 addresses instead of large blocks?

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:37 am
by docmarius
Maybe some ISPs hand out dynamic IPv6 addresses, and you want some fixed addresses in your local network?
Maybe you could have 2 IPv6 providers and want fallback without changing IPs... you can imagine a lot of scenarios.

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:09 am
by awacenter
I think Ipv6 NAT is necessary for activate the hotspot service using IPv6 addresses.
Moreover, it some networks it is userfull to net map an IPv4 LAN address to IPv6 address (in SOHO).

Re: ipv6 nat in routeros

Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 10:50 am
by awacenter
Mikrotik uses kernel 3.3.5

I seriously doubt they will update that kernel version significantly until they release mikrotik 7.x
Do you think this feature will be implementing the next MikroTik release 7.x ?