Community discussions

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:02 am

In this MikroTik newsletter:

- new 24xRJ45 + 1xSFP Gigabit port Cloud Router Switch CRS125-24G-1S-IN with desktop enclosure, $189

- new 24xRJ45 + 1xSFP Gigabit port Cloud Router Switch CRS125-24G-1S-RM with 1U rackmount enclosure, $199

- new 24xRJ45 + 1xSFP Gigabit port Cloud Router Switch CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD-IN with desktop enclosure and 1000mW 2.4Ghz 802.11b/g/n wireless, $209

- new 5Ghz dual chain miniPCI-express card R11e-5HnD with 500mW (27dBm), $39

- new Four slot miniPCI-e to PCI-e adapter RB14e, $49

- what is new in RouterOS v6.5

- MUM South America 2013 in few weeks

Download the newsletter here:
http://download2.mikrotik.com/news52.pdf

MikroTik Team
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Duduhandelman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:20 pm

Looks very interesting, where we can see the new switch options?
Is there a manual or a wiki page for that.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:28 pm

We are working on a new manual, here is a start http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_examples
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Duduhandelman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:07 pm

Thank you....
 
slech
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:04 pm

normis, how much is one more 1xSFP Gigabit port for Cloud Router Switch ?
As example - we use two ISP with Fiber.
sorry for my english
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:07 pm

Normis: any way to do vlan based on Mac address in dhcp lease table? It would be nice to force unknown macs to a captive portal. Or to use user manager for both.. Or something like that?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
ykutlu
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:19 am
Location: Turkiye

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:09 pm

Very nice product.

24 port is small from our office.

We waiting 48port+sfp rackmount.

Thanks
 
robertpenz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:41 am

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 4:50 pm

We are working on a new manual, here is a start http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CRS_examples
The new CRS looks good from the hardware and cost perspective! But if you want to get also in the small remote offices (currently one needs a router, a switch and access point - with CRS only one device) you need one feature which sets a switch apart from the unmanaged or smart managed ones.

wired MAC and 802.1x authentication via radius

To make it really usable it should be dual authentication - if a device supports 802.1x use that otherwise use MAC authentication ... And let the radius sort it out and decide about the vlan to use.

But it should not be that hard to implement as you have already some groundwork done in the wireless part. When can we expect such a feature? :-) ... Maybe even beta test.

Keep up the good work!
 
User avatar
Campano
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:35 am
Location: Ñuñoa - Chile
Contact:

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:42 pm

Very nice product.

24 port is small from our office.

We waiting 48port+sfp rackmount.

Thanks

+ 1000

10Gb sfp !!! now!!
 
Duduhandelman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:49 pm

The enterprise market is waiting for a layer 2 10G switch 48 port in the price range of sub 2K$. It should have minimal options like igmp snooping and QOS.
I think its a great time for mikrotik to get into the enterprise market.

Good luck.
 
barkas
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:10 am

The enterprise market is waiting for a layer 2 10G switch 48 port in the price range of sub 2K$. It should have minimal options like igmp snooping and QOS.
I think its a great time for mikrotik to get into the enterprise market.

Good luck.
No it's not. Compared with real enterprise switches the L2 feature set of routeros is subpar.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:37 am

The enterprise market is waiting for a layer 2 10G switch 48 port in the price range of sub 2K$. It should have minimal options like igmp snooping and QOS.
I think its a great time for mikrotik to get into the enterprise market.

Good luck.
No it's not. Compared with real enterprise switches the L2 feature set of routeros is subpar.
I would wait until we actually release the RouterOS software update with those switching features, before I would make comments about them.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
nurmia
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:53 am

Very significant post for us ,I think the representation of this article is actually superb one.
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:49 am

Normis: any way to do vlan based on Mac address in dhcp lease table? It would be nice to force unknown macs to a captive portal. Or to use user manager for both.. Or something like that?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Normis : any answer to this?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
nurmia
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:31 pm

Thanks so much for this post, this is such a good idea. :lol:
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:25 pm

Normis: any way to do vlan based on Mac address in dhcp lease table? It would be nice to force unknown macs to a captive portal. Or to use user manager for both.. Or something like that?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Normis : any answer to this?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

You can assign VLAN based on MAC address, here is the link:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CR ... Based_VLAN

But this is not what you probably wanted. Simply make a hotspot authentication based on MAC address. This way, known MAC addresses will be automatically authenticated, and unknown ones will be redirected to login page.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:08 pm

Normis:

Will there be client isolation (bridge split horizon) on the CRS in hardware switch chip?
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:32 pm

Normis: any way to do vlan based on Mac address in dhcp lease table? It would be nice to force unknown macs to a captive portal. Or to use user manager for both.. Or something like that?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Normis : any answer to this?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

You can assign VLAN based on MAC address, here is the link:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CR ... Based_VLAN

But this is not what you probably wanted. Simply make a hotspot authentication based on MAC address. This way, known MAC addresses will be automatically authenticated, and unknown ones will be redirected to login page.
Not exactly what I wanted... It would be nice to be able to force a vlan by whether or not they have a static lease.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:08 pm

Normis:

Will there be client isolation (bridge split horizon) on the CRS in hardware switch chip?
Yes, CRS125-24G-1S supports client isolation.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:30 am

Not exactly what I wanted... It would be nice to be able to force a vlan by whether or not they have a static lease.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Please clarify what is the difference in the outcome? Maybe I misunderstood what you want to achieve.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:44 pm

Not exactly what I wanted... It would be nice to be able to force a vlan by whether or not they have a static lease.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Please clarify what is the difference in the outcome? Maybe I misunderstood what you want to achieve.
It would be nice to have a single place where I could put things in to assign DHCP IP, VLAN, etc all by mac-address.

-Eric
 
nurmia
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:57 pm

Not exactly what I wanted... It would be nice to be able to force a vlan by whether or not they have a static lease.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Please clarify what is the difference in the outcome? Maybe I misunderstood what you want to achieve.
It would be nice to have a single place where I could put things in to assign DHCP IP, VLAN, etc all by mac-address.

-Eric
Thank you for sharing.
 
skibi82
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:14 pm

Than all the gold that glitters .
CRS125 seemed to be the ideal product , but unfortunately again proved a failure in comparison to buy normal managed switch.

reason 1
Why would I need as many ports even when I'm not able to do normal Trk , or LACP on the switch. ( For all those who do not know the arch of the device software 'm not talking about bonding max 1Gbps )

reason 2
Why would I need as many ports even when you can not STP / RSTP / MSTP attached to the switch ( To say goodbye to to my device i need plug one calbe to two ports on the hardware switch )

reason 3
Underdeveloped and unclear management switch. ( When you set the master port, is surprisingly shows ass taken VID lack of a clear clarification.

I hope that these will be corrected bungle in the future.
If it is not I use CRS125 only home where I do not need redundant links and efficient connections between switches .
 
User avatar
Kostadinoff
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:23 am
Location: Bulgaria/Sofia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:15 am

The idea of CRS125 is "complex office switch/router/wifi"!
CRS125 is not CORE L3 switch and price is ~$200 , not $2000!
Perfect SOHO gateway router, switch, all in one box:
• Ethernet, Fiber, or 4G (with optional USB modem)
gateway connection to Internet
• RouterOS gateway/firewall/VPN router with passive cooling
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:42 am

we are implementing many new features on the CRS-125 and we
do have newer switch products coming
with a more advanced chip and features as well
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lustyffh
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:46 pm

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:19 pm

Hi, what's the FCC-ID for R11e-5HnD? Anyone got the card already?

Or better can anyone let me know if 500mw is a per channel or cumulative TX power?

////// upd 15-nov-2013

Looks like no FCC authorization been granted yet. Searched all Mikrotik authorizations and the latest one (Groove A-52HPn) is dated Sep-2013.

So far, RB912UAG-5HPnD is still the most powerful 5Ghz product from Mikrotik (w/o antennas)
 
User avatar
bclewl1ns
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 7:38 am
Contact:

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:23 pm

Is their any plans to add POE for these switches.

I would be very interested in using this switch in our SOHO packages. However POE is a requirement for VOIP Services.
Brett

What is understood need not be discussed.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: MikroTik News October 2013 (Issue #52)

Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:10 am

Hi, what's the FCC-ID for R11e-5HnD? Anyone got the card already?

Or better can anyone let me know if 500mw is a per channel or cumulative TX power?

////// upd 15-nov-2013

Looks like no FCC authorization been granted yet. Searched all Mikrotik authorizations and the latest one (Groove A-52HPn) is dated Sep-2013.

So far, RB912UAG-5HPnD is still the most powerful 5Ghz product from Mikrotik (w/o antennas)
The ID is: TV7R11E5HND
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GmbH and 62 guests