Community discussions

 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:20 am

I have more than 30 RB but 2-3 of them are rebooting much more often than others. I investigate and I found out that is happening because very small free memory. I setup Watch Dog on all to check the default gateway and if can not check to reboot.

ridiculous thing is that it connect only 1-2-3 customers each of them (and free memory decrease from 46 mb after reboot to 2 mb after 7 hours). RB who connect multiple customers have no problems with memory (free memory is on this machines from 38-46 mb all the time).

how can I investigate what is using memory so much ?
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:31 am

CPU usage is undet Tools->Profile. As much I see the memory usage per item is not available. You can try to disable useless packages under System->Packages, these should free some memory.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:46 am

CPU usage is undet Tools->Profile. As much I see the memory usage per item is not available. You can try to disable useless packages under System->Packages, these should free some memory.
Profile shows 98.5-99 % used by IDLE (this normally means FREE RESOURCES) and same time I have 7.3 mb free ... witch a single customer browsing.

on identical machine free memory is 38-45 mb.

Packages available is:
- advanced tools
- routerboard
- routing
- security
- system
- user-manager

I do not install ALL packages available, I install only what I need to serve my requirements: web proxy, real IP, OSPF and firewall and Redirect for tcp 80.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:24 pm

Limit memory usage in Web proxy this happen because web proxy use memory and trigger watch dog.
Don't use unlimited enter some value and problem is gone :) .
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:06 pm

Limit memory usage in Web proxy this happen because web proxy use memory and trigger watch dog.
Don't use unlimited enter some value and problem is gone :) .
where exactly I can make this limitation ? pls give me an example.

Are you talking about MAX CACHE SIZE under IP / Web proxy settings ?
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:15 pm

excellent remark. After I setup NONE .. the memory free automatically. and .. in deed ... the units who was reboot themselves ... was setup UNLIMITED. till now I never give attention to that settings. hmmm. big thank you !
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:40 pm

florinbro
max-cache-size=unlimited for ip proxy should allow to use available RAM resources, but it should not lead to out of memory problem.
Please send support output file to support (support@mikrotik.com) with current configuration (of if it possible with low amount of RAM left), we will investigate described issue.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:31 pm

10 of my equipment who have settings to UNLIMITED ... it reboot ... thanks to watchdog settings ! (this equipment's are located hundreds of km away in mountains).

I try to transform MiB (shown un upper side of the window) into KiB (shown in Web proxy settings).
I used this page: http://www.convertunits.com/from/MB/to/KB
and 30 MB (from 45 mb free) it transform into 36864 KB.
I setup like this al ALL equipment's with 64 mb ram showing in general 38-45 mb free always !

browsing went like rocket ... but after 30 minutes ... the RB stop responding ... and it was a huge mess ... lucky again .. watchdog reboot equipment and I was able to setup Cache Sized on NONE.

please tell me how should I convert from one unit to another if I want to specify a size for browsing improvement ?

RB750 have 15 mb free and 10 mb can be used for CACHE (in my opinion)
RB450 or 493 have 45 mb free and 35 mb can be used for CACHE (in my opinion)

what settings should I type at Cache Size in Web proxy settings ? (to avoid the stop responding case I describe it here up)
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:48 pm

florinbro
max-cache-size=unlimited for ip proxy should allow to use available RAM resources, but it should not lead to out of memory problem.
Please send support output file to support (support@mikrotik.com) with current configuration (of if it possible with low amount of RAM left), we will investigate described issue.

Try it, on my 951G with 6.4 set unlimited have restart by watchdog reason low memory, low traffic usually restart happens every 2 days.
Limit memory for proxy cache to 80000 and after that never seen restart work perfectly.

I also have x86 use unlimited more that two years in all version without any problem but on my 951 is some problem related to proxy using memory and memory watchdog is exist.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:18 pm

your RB have 128 MB ram ! the one I use 750 have 32 MB RAM and 450 (493) have 64 MB RAM. what setting you recommend for Web proxy in order do not have restart from Watch Dog ?

I mention that RB750 have only 15 MB FREE after complete start .. and
RB450 (493) have only 45 MB FREE after complete start

how can I calculate what numbers to be written at Cache Size ?
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:28 am

I don't have experience with that boards I can't recommend settings sorry.
I thing is problem related to watchdog memory limit and memory limit for proxy.
On x86 never seen to happen this with unlimited work perfectly, by on RB make problem.

Like I say before limit on 80000 on 951 never again see reboot by watchdog low memory.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:47 am

how did you calculate this 80000 on your equipment ?

now that I setup Max Cache Size to NONE the machines not reboot last 12 hours but .. I would like to take advantage of some small cache.

basically I do not know how to transform MiB from UPER SIDE WINDOW of WINBOX .. into KiB from Web Proxy Settings (Max Cache Size).
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:25 am

I don't exactly calculate my board have 128MB ram, I see OS use around 25MB put 80000 and any time I have around 20MB memory free and not have problem with memory watchdog.
Maybe try with some small values and rise it to see when watchdog is triggered if you have some RB easy accessible.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:32 am

I expect Mikrotik to answer the way to calculate since if I use http://www.convertunits.com/from/MB/to/KB and give me very wrong answer.

RB450 have 45 mb free after boot! I decide to give 36 mb for cache. This website transform 36 MB to KB at 36864. I setup like this for MAX CACHE SIZE. after 10 minutes the RB was not responding and after 10 minutes reboot by watch dog. the customers already start calling that internet not working.

so I'm asking .. how is the way it should be calculate ?
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:51 am

just enter 36M as a value RouterOS will automatically set up 36MiB (MiB where 1KiB = 1024 bytes)
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:34 pm

just enter 36M as a value RouterOS will automatically set up 36MiB (MiB where 1KiB = 1024 bytes)
2013 10 29 Mik Max Cache Error.jpg
unfortunately it is not working :(

question remain: how much should I setup in KiB to mean 36 MiB like in top side of the WinBox windows.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:40 pm

MKiB
this is kind of lame...
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:45 am

A simple and precisely question it is a lame ? since 2 days I search entire internet and not find a clear answer.
2013 10 30 Mik Max Cache Error.jpg
With Max Cache Size left Unlimited as someone from Mikrotik recommend here up ... a customer playing God Game Empire ... because of the traffic ... make RB450 to be rebooted by watchdog in max 1 hour and this affect other users connected to the same router.

InoX please advice what settings should I place in Max Cache to represent 36 MiB from top of the WinBox window ? simple question.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
abyss
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:51 am

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:02 am

Try with 36000 :D

Regards
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:08 am

Try with 36000 :D

Regards
I try and result was a Watchdog reboot because of a System error. So it was happening EXACTLY what happened when it is setup on Unlimited.

The customer plays God Game Empire. This game is over HTTP and seems generate some kind of fault in Web proxy memory or Mikrotik RB450, 750 and 493.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:58 am

Are you running SNMP ?
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:44 pm

yes in deed !
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:53 pm

A simple and precisely question it is a lame ? since 2 days I search entire internet and not find a clear answer.
2013 10 30 Mik Max Cache Error.jpg
With Max Cache Size left Unlimited as someone from Mikrotik recommend here up ... a customer playing God Game Empire ... because of the traffic ... make RB450 to be rebooted by watchdog in max 1 hour and this affect other users connected to the same router.

InoX please advice what settings should I place in Max Cache to represent 36 MiB from top of the WinBox window ? simple question.
I wasn't reffering to you question, sorry for that but janisk told you to set an MB unit in an Kib field. You need to set 36000KiB. If it doesn't work, there is a problem with your routers, is working for me. I was using cahe a long time ago and found it buggy. Why use internal memory for cache? 36MB will not help.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:58 pm

in CLI you can set 36M in winbox, since you have provided that you have to enter KiB, enter just numeric value.

Also, didn't you notice argument turning red, indicating that the value entered is not acceptable?
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Thu Oct 31, 2013 3:09 pm

without become angry on me ... please let me know if I mistake something.
2013 10 31 Mik Max Cache Error.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:48 am

yes in deed !
I had some routers where the snmp eats up all memory, test to disable it.
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:42 am

regarding the MEMORY ... I setup Max Cache Memory on NONE.
A new problem show up: something happened with Web proxy and bring CPU at 100 % and after that Web proxy disabled himself.
2013 11 01 Mik Max Cache Error.jpg
Doesn't matter if it is 5.26 or 5.25 ... the error shows very frequent.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:48 am

check your own screenshot, field name is coloured red - indicating a problem. When changed field is OK winbox will change colour to blue.

Also, i would suggest updating to 6.5 as there have been some improvements after 5.x was released.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:49 am

Field name is red, because you entered "M" in there. It only accepts numbers, and automatically assumes KiB
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:30 pm

yes this is clear. what I do not know is the conversion MiB <> KIB. even after knowing the conversion I face very strange problems with one unit as you can see here: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=78442
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:35 pm

OK this is all irrelevant and doesn't matter. The real issue is why you set max-cache-size to 36864 KiB and it stopped your router.

Make a supout.rif file after you reboot it from the crash, and email it to support. We will see what crashed and why
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:01 pm

I even follow your advices to update to 6.5. Doesn't matter if I have setup cache on Unlimited, a certain number or NONE. This machines reach CPU 100 % because of an error coming from Web proxy service .. and after that it is rebooted by Watch Dog (hopefully) otherwise I'm unable to leave the office.
2013 11 01 Mik Max Cache Error v6.5 01.jpg
2013 11 01 Mik Max Cache Error v6.5 02.jpg
what is SPI eating this memory ?

Someone said that SNMP it start eating memory .... and seems to be very true ! sometime I see in profile .. that SNMP reaching 40 %.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,

Bogdan Florin
 
User avatar
florinbro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: RouterBoard run out of memory

Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:30 pm

I still have the same machine with the same error ... CPU 100 % ... so intense that I can not even Restore from Backup, after 1 day and 9 hours of well working.

any suggestion about SPI ?
Regards,

Bogdan Florin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests