Community discussions

 
boliveira
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:31 pm

Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:50 pm

Hello,

I am having problems getting the GPS monitor tool to work with the LTE modem MC7710.

I have a RB912UAG with routerOS 6.5 and a Sierra Wireless MC7710 LTE Modem. Using the serial console to send AT commands to the modem, i can get the GPS to work ok (i can send AT commands to the modem only if the directip module is disabled):
at!gpsstatus?
Current time: 1980 01 06 6 02:24:33

1980 01 06 6 02:24:33 Last Fix Status    = SUCCESS
1980 01 06 6 00:00:13 Fix Session Status = ACTIVE

TTFF (sec) = 102

OK
The problem is that when i use the /system gps monitor command it seems that the mikrotik can't read the nmea data on the channel.
[admin@MikroTik] > /system gps set enabled=yes port=usb2 channel=2
[admin@MikroTik] > /system gps monitor                            
        date-and-time: nov/30/1999 00:00:00
         latitude: none
         longitude: none
         altitude: none
         speed: none
         destination-bearing: none
         true-bearing: none
         magnetic-bearing: none
         valid: no
         satellites: 0
-- [Q quit|D dump|C-z pause]
Tried the modem mc7110 with firmware versions 3.00.08.02 and 3.05.23.02. Doing the same configuration with the 3G modem MC8790 everything works ok.

Also tried to use the AT command
at!gpsnmeaconfig=1,1
to enable the nmea data and set the data output rate, but it didn't help.
 
mmv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:35 pm

You can get NMEA messages on channel 2 if connect to it by /system serial-terminal port=usb2 channel=2 ?
Mikhail Moskalev
 
gerardnorton
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:48 pm

I am having the same problem. I have the GPS on and get the coordinates.
AT!GPSLOC?
Lat: XX Deg XX Min XX.XX Sec N  (0x007XXXX2)
Lon: X Deg XX Min XX.XX Sec W  (0xFFFXXXX)
Time: 2014 09 12 4 XX:XX:XX (GPS) 
LocUncAngle: 0.0 deg  LocUncA: 6.0 m  LocUncP: 6.0 m  HEPE: 8.485 m
2D Fix 
Altitude: 892 m  LocUncVe: 6.0 m
Heading: 0.0 deg  VelHoriz: 0.0 m/s  VelVert: 0 m/s


OK
AT!GPSSTATUS?
Current time: 1980 01 06 6 00:51:46

1980 01 06 6 00:51:45 Last Fix Status    = SUCCESS
1980 01 06 6 00:00:15 Fix Session Status = ACTIVE

TTFF (sec) = 9


OK
I do not see any data on channel 2. Someone to able to work with GPS of the modem MC7700/MC7710?
 
mmv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Sep 12, 2014 5:44 pm

Enable autotracking
AT!GPSAUTOSTART=1, 1, 255, 1000, 1

Switch back on DirectIP mode
install gps package
and bound it to channel 0

then mikrotik automaticaly send to NMEA port magic sequence
echo \$GPS_START >/dev/ttyUSB2

and after it you can access to gps data trough gps package.
Mikhail Moskalev
 
gerardnorton
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:14 pm

This works perfect. Thank you.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:48 pm

Hi mmv

Can you explain how you do the below please.
Enable autotracking
AT!GPSAUTOSTART=1, 1, 255, 1000, 1

Switch back on DirectIP mode
install gps package
and bound it to channel 0

then mikrotik automaticaly send to NMEA port magic sequence
echo \$GPS_START >/dev/ttyUSB2

and after it you can access to gps data trough gps package.
 
gerardnorton
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:42 pm

Hi "timmay2".

1- Turn off "DirectiIP" mode.
/port firmware set ignore-directip-modem=yes
2- Restart RouterOS.
/system reboot
3- Open a terminal to the modem on the 3 channel.
/system serial-terminal usb1 channel=3
4- Run the following AT commands. http://apps.richardsonrfpd.com/Mktg/Tec ... mmands.pdf
AT!ENTERCND="A710"
AT!GPSAUTOSTART=1,1,255,1000,1
5- Close the terminal session, Ctrl+A >>>> Q
6 - Turn on "DirectiIP" mode.
/port firmware set ignore-directip-modem=no
2- Restart RouterOS.
/system reboot
This will be already running GPS in channel 0.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:15 am

Hi gerardnorton

Thanks! That did work and I can get GPS data from the MC7710.

However I still have the same issue. There is no longitude.
> system gps monitor 
        date-and-time: sep/17/2014 22:11:22
             latitude: N 51 16' 42.318''
            longitude: none
             altitude: 12.100000m
                speed: 0.000000 km/h
  destination-bearing: none
         true-bearing: 0.000000 deg. True
     magnetic-bearing: 0.000000 deg. Mag
                valid: yes
           satellites: 7
I'm using router OS v6.18 on a RB912UAG-2HPnD.
 
gerardnorton
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:08 pm

Please check the version that has your MC7710. You have to have at least that indicated in the wiki (3.5.23.2).
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Supported ... _LTE_cards

Follow steps 1-2-3 and enter the following command to check the version of firmware of your modem:
ATI
Here is the firmware, but you have to register to download it. It is very easy to update the firmware with the tool from Windows.
http://developer.sierrawireless.com/Res ... 2_DIP.aspx

I bought this adapter for these tasks.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-3G-W ... 43136.html
Image
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:11 pm

Ah Ha!
ATI
Manufacturer: Sierra Wireless, Incorporated
Model: MC7710
Revision: SWI9200X_03.00.08.02AP R3715 CARMD-EN-10526 2011/11/14 18:42:43
IMEI: 358178041537111
IMEI SV: 7
FSN: CCQ2513221510
3GPP Release 8
+GCAP: +CGSM,+DS,+ES
So the modem I borrowed from work was one I'd not updated yet :(

I'll take another home that has already been updated or just update the one I have already then try again...

Thanks for all your help btw!

***EDIT***

I can take one home with firmware version:- SWI9200X_03.05.24.00ap r5792 carmd-en-10527 2013/05/02 13:35:47

This is what I normally use in Mikrotik's and at work. If that doesn't work then I'll flash the one on the old FW.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:40 pm

Hi gerardnorton

I still have the same issue, no longitude.
system gps monitor
        date-and-time: sep/19/2014 19:25:38
             latitude: N 51 16' 42.240''
            longitude: none
             altitude: 17.200001m
                speed: 0.000000 km/h
  destination-bearing: none
         true-bearing: 308.100006 deg. True
     magnetic-bearing: 308.100006 deg. Mag
                valid: yes
           satellites: 5
direct from the serial terminal:-
$GPGSV,4,1,13,04,37,150,39,09,50,203,47,13,,,51,20,57,088,48*44
$GPGSV,4,2,13,23,73,140,51,32,14,084,42,33,,,44,51,,,36*76
$GPGSV,4,3,13,02,09,310,,08,00,157,,10,20,271,,12,,,*4A
$GPGSV,4,4,13,25,02,350,*48
$GLGSV,3,1,10,74,15,115,21,73,28,063,24,80,13,012,23,87,43,215,32*6D
$GLGSV,3,2,10,71,27,063,18,86,01,180,,65,35,265,,88,48,296,*69
$GLGSV,3,3,10,81,07,340,,72,73,004,*68
$GPGGA,192432.0,5116.704048,N,00104.429676,E,1,05,2.6,17.1,M,47.0,M,,*67
$PQXFI,192432.0,5116.704048,N,00104.429676,E,17.1,5.92,4.42,1.11*5B
$GNGNS,192432.0,5116.704048,N,00104.429676,E,AN,05,2.6,17.1,47.0,,*5C
$GPVTG,308.1,T,308.1,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*23
$GPRMC,192432.0,A,5116.704048,N,00104.429676,E,0.0,308.1,190914,,,A*6E
$GPGSA,A,2,04,09,20,23,32,,,,,,,,2.7,2.6,0.9*34
$GNGSA,A,2,04,09,20,23,32,,,,,,,,2.7,2.6,0.9*2A
Tried with two different modems and 3 different firmware versions now:-
SWI9200X_03.00.08.02
SWI9200X_03.05.23.02
SWI9200X_03.05.24.00

The location is wrong anyway... perhaps the GPS antenna isn't getting a good enough fix but I'd still expect it to show the longitude which is in the raw output. I really think there is an issue with the GPS monitor package! I have the same issue with another USB GPS receiver, not just the MC7710's GPS. For the USB GPS receiver the location was correct in the raw serial output but still longitude was "none" for "system gps monitor".
 
gerardnorton
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:13 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:59 pm

The output of the modem terminal seems correct.
$GPGGA,192432.0,5116.704048,N,00104.429676,E,1,05,2.6,17.1,M,47.0,M,,*67
Follow steps 1-2-3. Everything seems to indicate that the use of GPS package version is not correct. Try the following settings.

1- We say to the modem to use the external antenna.
AT!CUSTOM="GPSSEL",0
2- Adjust the modem work region. See page 44 of document http://apps.richardsonrfpd.com/Mktg/Tec ... mmands.pdf.
AT!CUSTOM="PRLREGION",01
I'm using the version of RouterOS "6.19" for these tests.
[admin@MikroTik] > :put [/system package print detail where name="gps"];  
Flags: X - disabled 
 0   name="gps" version="6.19" build-time=aug/26/2014 14:05:51 scheduled="" 

[admin@MikroTik] > 
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:11 pm

No such luck...
AT!CUSTOM="GPSSEL",0
ERROR
AT!CUSTOM="PRLREGION",01
ERROR
and..
[admin@timmay2_4] > system package print detail where name="gps"
Flags: X - disabled 
 0   name="gps" version="6.19" build-time=aug/26/2014 14:05:51 scheduled="" 
Seems to be the right version.

I have also tried taking it out side to try and get a better GPS signal than I do with an antenna stuck out my flat window. This didn't make any difference! It did pick up another 1 or 2 satellites but the MC7710 still didn't have the correct location even in the raw serial output.

Also tested again with a separate USB GPS receiver I have but still "system gps monitor" shows "longitude: none".

There must be a bug in the gps package!
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:27 am

Have you tried the modem in a PC? May just be the 7710 that is damaged?
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:50 am

I've basically given up on testing the MC7710 until I have an answer as to why the GPS package isn't showing the longitude using a known to be working (when connected to my laptop) USB GPS receiver.

If the GPS is faulty on the MC7710 I'll swap it for another at work as they don't use the GPS anyway so will not care ;-)
 
mmv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:22 pm

Small additiona experience.
I meet situation when MC7710 don't start tracking session automaticaly, even if configured.
Then I configure init command in "/system gps init" (Sorry, no precise syntax, no access to installed gps module now)
to start tracking manually.
Mikhail Moskalev
 
mmv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:24 pm

@timmay2
If NMEA log show fix, but gps module show only lattitude, try ask Mikrotik support@mikrotik.com about this situation.
Mikhail Moskalev
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:21 pm

May be I will contact support...

Looking back at this it seems that it could simply be the conversion from decimal to Degrees, Minutes, Seconds that is not working correctly.

I just used http://www.gonmad.co.uk/nmea.php to convert the NMEA data to a latitude and longitude. Unfortunately that website seems to be a bit broken as it doesn't plot to location in the map but the latitude and longitude it produced plot in the correct location when copied to Google maps.
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:47 pm

Progress :-D

"Hello,

we were able to fix it, but the fix will be included only in RouterOS v6.25rc
as we will try to release v6.24 tomorrow.

Regards,
Uldis"

Thanks again Uldis!
 
timmay2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7710 GPS with RouterOS 6.5

Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:22 pm

Thanks again everyone!

I've decided to use this as an opportunity to use GitHub to share and collaborate on the code for this.

I've expanded on the GPS to e-mail script (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/GPS_text_ ... Earth/Maps) to add some more information and expect to add even more to this as I experiment with what I can send.

The next idea is to either pull this info from the e-mails into a database or somehow sent to a database directly. Then I can start looking at pulling that into Google maps to plot locations with possibility of adding a signal quality layer, number of active Wi-Fi users layer and more...

GitHub link:- https://github.com/timmay2/mikrotik-gps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 107 guests