Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:59 pm

For some while now we have been working on new PPP package for RouterOS. Main goal was to improve
speed and stability. Package was tested in our internal networks and by some our dev build testers.
Speed and stability improvements apply mainly for multicore devices.

Note:
- we will appreciate reports for new ppp package to support@mikrotik.com
- package should not be used at production environment;
- v6.rc7 PPP changes will be included 6.8 or v6.9 release (not at 6.7 web release).

Development build download links:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk

ppp-v7 packages:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... c2-ppc.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 2-tile.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... mipsbe.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... mipsle.npk

All files archive:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.7rc2.zip
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2301
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:03 pm

ppp-v7 packages:
V7?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
krisjanis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:20 pm

ppp_v7 package improvements consist of 2 parts:

*) ppp_v7 package should provide additional improvement in PPPOE, PPTP and L2TP interface management.
*) upgrades in the drivers and Kernel, that should deliver improvement in traffic throughput performance on those interfaces.

Improvements will be seen on all supported architectures, but highest performance improvements will be seen especially on multicore systems
 
HaPe
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:24 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:27 pm

Have someone perform any tests on xen?
Do it add any extra features, options to UI?
In anticipation on new The Dude release.
 
ghi000
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:05 pm
Location: București, România
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:18 pm

on 951g-2hnd i have lower speed than with routeros v6.6 when connected with pppoe client
 
neophyte
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:39 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:04 pm

x86 random reboot ,40 pptp session....
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 620
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:46 pm

MTCNA , MTCRE, MTCWE, Mikrotik Certified Trainer
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 620
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:52 pm

Also Umetered Content for PPPoE . 'Unmetered Content' services aren't counted against your monthly download inclusion . added to feature request page
MTCNA , MTCRE, MTCWE, Mikrotik Certified Trainer
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:24 pm

There are no new features in there. Only performance optimizations for multicore routers (like TILE, x86 and PPC), single core should also see some improvement, but not comparable to multicore solutions.

In our internal testing there where great speed improvements.

Please send your reports to support@mikrotik.com along with support output file so we can see your configuration and analyze the results.
 
slech
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:27 pm

Doesn't receive any response from support@mikrotik.com. Maybe auto-reply is disabled now.
It seems that Ovpn doesn't work.
sorry for my english
 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Nov 27, 2013 5:09 am

Never really had problem with pppoe on 5.x. Haven't moved to v6 on core/edge.
I have 700 pppoe sessions and on core i3 not too much CPU usage even moving 130-140 megabit.
Each customer gets advertised speed

I'm not sure how it could get better? Is this more geared for tile?
My CPU is only 2 cores.
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Nov 27, 2013 8:31 am

hope after ppp there will be the case of routing on manycores.

earlier then v7.
Thanks
Ros
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:38 am

hope after ppp there will be the case of routing on manycores.

earlier then v7.
Thanks
Ros
Please no.

Major new features on new releases only!
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Nov 28, 2013 1:18 pm

Status of PPPoE session is displayed incomplete

IP Addresses and MRRU are missing
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:54 pm

I dont know is this is related, but yesterday i tried to change a Dell x86 (5.25) accting as pppoe server to a CCR (6.5). All work well in 5.25, but in 6.5 no one of the clients that get a subnet allocation, worked. All clients with a single ip was ok.

The NAS put an error telling "could not determe remote ip". Something have changed from 5.x to 6.x? Since this is in production, im not that happy to test the new package unless someone might confirm that this work in the new 6.7? (i put the dell back)

I have not tested 6.x on the dell to se if its the same problem in x86 as tilera


Update:

Upgrade x86 to 6.6, seems to work.
 
User avatar
saaremaa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:48 pm
Location: Baltijos šalių miestas

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:49 pm

COA will be implemented?
CMDR Saaremaa (Gutamaya Sierra Alpha Alpha)
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:32 am

I have tested the supplied packages and it did not work out for me!

I've first upgraded two routerboards to version 6.7rc2 and then uploaded the ppp-v7 package.
Still get the error "could not add bridge port <pptp-xxx> is not allowed to be put in bridge (6).

I will send supout.rif of both devices to MT support
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
Kadafi
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:48 pm

+1 for COA.

We can't make some kind of "Turbo button" service without this.
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:39 pm

+1 for CoA .
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:20 am

+1 for COA
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
jnc
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:40 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:52 am

The links are broken - can you update the post with correct ones?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24392
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:55 am

The links are broken - can you update the post with correct ones?
v6.7 is released on the web, you can download from our download page, or update from within your router (click "check for updates")
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2301
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:39 am

The links are broken - can you update the post with correct ones?
v6.7 is released on the web, you can download from our download page, or update from within your router (click "check for updates")
v6.rc7 PPP changes will be included 6.8 or v6.9 release (not at 6.7 web release)
JNC: You can try 6.8rc1 http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
Balu75
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:26 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:59 am

I have multicore x86 with about 30 PPPoE servers on different vlans which came on board through one Intel 82576 ethernet card.
On RouterOS 5.26 I saw rx queue issue on this card when all incoming PPPoE traffic appeared in first queue0 and other queues was empty, so I have big load disbalance between cpu cores. This issue is very known and nothing to do with this, because it based on RSS algorithm in network card controller :(
But when I move to RouterOS 6.7 (package ppp-v6.7) I saw, that now other rx queues on this card began to receive frames, not so much as first queue, but anyway this is very _very_ great, load disbalance between cores became much smaller.
How do you do this ? You load into network card controller other RSS algorithm ?
Do you plan to extend this success in future releases of PPP package ?
 
tgcnet
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:26 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:02 am

version 6.8 rc with problems pinging PPPoE station, the ping rises too, that ping is 1ms in version 6.6 ... in version 6.8rc1 is 10ms 8ms 30ms .... for pppoe station
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:51 pm

please redownload the v6.8rc1 package from the link above as we have made a new test build with some fixes for ppp module.
 
User avatar
saaremaa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:48 pm
Location: Baltijos šalių miestas

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:28 pm

please redownload the v6.8rc1 package from the link above as we have made a new test build with some fixes for ppp module.
COA will be implemented? COA is needed for your customers.
CMDR Saaremaa (Gutamaya Sierra Alpha Alpha)
 
tgcnet
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:26 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:03 pm

please redownload the v6.8rc1 package from the link above as we have made a new test build with some fixes for ppp module.
same high ping problem in version 6.8 rc1
following image............
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Arnold2222
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:15 pm

I noticed the same situation as above,
when I ping any device or station from core MT i have bigger latency than from example pc in the network.
ROS V6.7 RB 2011
 
net365
newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:16 pm

Any plans for a Mikrotik LNS/LAC for DSL handoff?
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:37 am

hello
i have problem by ppp users after 2days uptime cloudcore and must router reboot for users can be connected

i update my cloud core 1016 from 6.2 to 6.8rc1 for ppp problem

ppp speed very good but

after 10 min all user logout from accounting but stay connected in mikrotik

other version have not this problem

help me please
 
Twido
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:52 am

+1 for CoA .

We really need it for yesterday...
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:44 am

Have had some contact with the support of MikroTik and they found the problem with DHCP over BCP.
Hello,

Thanks, problem repeated.

Problem are specific to setups when DHCP-server is on the same bridge where pptp
is bridged.

we will fix that in one of the next versions.

Meanwhile you can ether place DHCP server on other device in the network, or use
EoIP over PPTP and bridge EOIP tunnel.

Regards,
I asked them in which release it will be solved. I will report when they do.
I'm happy that the problem is located an will be solved.
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:46 pm

big problem my router ccr1016 ver : 6.8rc1 by user connecet with pppoe connection
help me
Image
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8330
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:24 pm

big problem
what problem? someone logs in via SSH four times per second?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:38 pm

looks like he is using radius accounting for local auth (ssh, telnet, winbox) and for pppoe.
thus anyone with valid pppoe-credentials might be able to log into his router via ssh/telnet/winbox :-P.

and if the radius only allows for one session at a time, the pppoe-session gets killed, when a ssh-login is attempted...


evil stuff :-D
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:06 pm

hi my friends

i have ccr1016 and 700 ppp client

my router after 1 days up time crash and ppp users can not connected with pppoe connection

my router version is 6.2
upgrade 6.2 to 6.3 ----> no change
upgrade 6.3 to 6.7 ----> no change
downgrade 6.7 to 6.0 ----> no change

for this problem mail to mikrotik support and answered :
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,

Starting from version 6.8rc1 we are lunching new ppp (pppoe,pptp,l2tp)
implementation.
PPP code were optimized both in traffic throughput and interface management
Effect will be the most on multi-core devices (especially CCR Series).

Please, (re-)download and (re-)install the latest build:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.npk
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... 6.8rc1.zip
Changelog (where you also can see build time) is here:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... evnote.txt

Also i suggest to use partition option before update:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Partitions

Make sure that you have at least 2 working copies before any upgrade,
so if necessary other one will be available.

Report back with new supout.rif file if you encounter any new or persistent
problems add description if behavior changes
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i upgrade 6.5 to 6.8rc1 and see top speed ppp connection in minimum cpu usage
my ccr works good by this version but affter 10min i see router log and see
(( client user name logout 0.0.0.0
client user name logout 0.0.0.0
client user name logout 0.0.0.0
client user name logout 0.0.0.0
client user name logout 0.0.0.0
client user name logout 0.0.0.0))

Image

but 500 users stay connected and see all user in active connection and used internet ,
this time open my accounting and see all users logout and 40 users connected ,
online users maximum is 60 that after 10min increase to 30/40 users

compulsory downgread 6.7 and repeat problem after 1d uptime ---> rebood router

help me please
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8330
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:27 pm

as I can see, user logs out after someone called 'rated' logs in via SSH - what's that?

p.s. it's not '0.0.0.0' but '2 0 0 0 0' - i.e., not an IP address but five numbers
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:00 pm

1-my radius server connected mikrotik
2- created user ssh in mikrotik and set this user to my radius
3 - when user connect with ppp connection radius applay rate for user in mikrotik simplequeue
4- this works good for 6 years ago and now but cant action by version 6.8rc1

for help i take screenshot radius

Image
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24392
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:00 am

ariaking - do I understand correctly, that when your Radius is trying to apply rate change, your users disconnect?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:48 pm

hi

my radius server send rate to mikrotik with SSH and user conneted with PPPOE connection

now all users connected successfully and use internet

1 : with version 6.0 .... 6.7 after 2days ppp users cant be conneted

2 : with version 6.8rc1 all user connected after 20min logout from radius but stay connected in mikrotik
 
K1w1user
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:12 pm

Any fixes likely for sstp ?

It is incapable of staying up for more than a day, compared to pptp.

Usually, both ends claim the other one disconnected or timed out.

I've ditched sstp and reverted to pptp, which is not considered as secure.
When the sstp is replaced, on the same hardware, it then can stay up for typically 30-60 days.
 
gogusrl
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:14 pm

repost from the 6.8rc1 thread

Can confirm I got another ~200 mbps while torrenting on my 1gbps connection running routeros 6.8rc1 under ESXi on a Celeron G1610T (sole VM, ~70% cpu load, pppoe connection, ~60 firewall rules).
 
tgcnet
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:26 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:50 pm

serious problem with PPPOE SERVER bridge and when client disconnects, the other customers mikrotik drops after 20 seconds, problem with BCP, in all versions,. customer who left hung equipment, and the right client mikrotik disconnected, after 20 seconds than the other turned off the device.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
nikos
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:09 pm

Hi all,
I have strange issue, cannot access my clients CPE by IP provided from pppoe pool,I can ping ,traceroute but no access to CPE GUI.
I am using RB1100AH v6.7 with 2WAN ,loadbalancing PCC and pppoe server on same router.
Please help,
 
ariaking
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Improved PPP package for v6.x

Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:10 pm

version 6.9 no problem and works very goooooood

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndyGs, Bing [Bot], Comdriver, eworm, Google [Bot], llag and 95 guests