Community discussions

 
terintamel
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:09 am

Bridging w/failover?

Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:43 pm

I need some help. I have a fiber-optic customer that currenly has a brigded link back to our core switch. He has a wireless backup, but right now he has to manually remove the fiber link and then connect the wireless link. I would like to setup a way that he can have both connected and if the fiber fails it switches to the wireless automatically. It should then switch back once the fiber path is restored.

I have included an example of what I have setup.Image

The customer is using a RB750GL with the following bridge setup
 #    INTERFACE              BRIDGE              PRIORITY  PATH-COST    HORIZON
 0    ether3_customer        Internet_Bridge         0x80         10       none
 1 I  ether4_customer        Internet_Bridge         0x80         10       none
 2    ether5_vlan2021        Internet_Bridge         0x80         10       none
 3    ether2_customer        Internet_Bridge         0x80         10       none
 4    ether1_manage          Internet_Bridge         0x80         10       none
I am managing the device on ether5 in vlan1 using a private IP.
Ether5 connects to a fiber transceiver and the fiber runs back to our office. There it connects to a Cisco 3750 with switchport trunk allowed vlan 2021,1.
On the Cisco vlan2021 is assigned their public gateway IP.

On another port the Cisco with switchport trunk allowed vlan 2021,500,1,2004 connects to our watertower via fiber to an HP procurve switch with its uplink port configured to allow vlans 2021,500,1,2004.
Port 4 of the HP switch is set to allow vlans 2021,1 and connects to a Ubiquiti AP in AP WDS bridge mode. This AP connects to a CPE in Station WDS Bridge mode.
The CPE is currently not connected to the customer's RB750GL. They have to plug it in manually to Ether5 when the fiber link goes down.
I would like to have it connected to Ether4.

What would be the best way to set this up so they have automatic failover?
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Bridging w/failover?

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:20 pm

OSPF :)
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
terintamel
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 3:09 am

Re: Bridging w/failover?

Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:25 pm

Is there a way to do it without switching from bridging to routing and running OSPF. Our core switch the Cisco is a L3 switch and to my knowledge does not do OSPF.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 132 guests