Community discussions

 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

VRRP received packet with bad checksum

Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:10 am

Hi guys,

I have logged this with tech support, but wanted it on the forum so others might find it useful.

This is quite a common setup of ours, which is repeated maybe 50 or 60 times, but in this case I have a problem. I setup a VRRP interface, the IP on that interface is to server as a redundant gateway to equipment that is connected to both Routers, and the routers themselves have a cable bridging them. When its setup, one of the routers logs "VRRP received packet with bad checksum" and they both end up being masters of the IP.

I logged it with support. Logically, they have asked to replace the cable, but in actual fact, doing a packet capture reveals the checksum is bad for the packet even before it goes down the wire. I've also upgraded at their request, no luck yet.
 
candlerb
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:07 am

Re: VRRP received packet with bad checksum

Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:54 pm

Did you get a solution to this?

I am seeing exactly the same problem, here on CCR1036 running RouterOS 6.40.8; the VRRP partner is a Cisco 2901 running IOS 15.5(3)M7. VRRP version 3 has been configured on both sides.
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, R - running, M - master, B - backup
 #     NAME                        INTERFACE                        MAC-ADDRESS       VRID PRIORITY INTERVAL             VERSION V3-PROTOCOL
 0  RM ;;; received packet from XXX.XX.XX.226 bad checksum (61ec != c2f1)
       vrrp41                      ether1                           00:00:5E:00:01:29   41       50 1s                   3       ipv4
 
bbs2web
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: VRRP received packet with bad checksum

Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:19 am

Last time I looked in to this Wireshark also marked the VRRP packet coming from a Cisco using v3 as invalid. Using v2 works...

Did you get a solution to this?

I am seeing exactly the same problem, here on CCR1036 running RouterOS 6.40.8; the VRRP partner is a Cisco 2901 running IOS 15.5(3)M7. VRRP version 3 has been configured on both sides.
 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: VRRP received packet with bad checksum

Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:40 am

Hi

I got a bit tired of the problem in the end, and I think I may have found that I also did downgrade to v2, but to be honest, I cant recall exactly what we did to work around the problem (it wasn't fixed by support in the end )

Regards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 88 guests