Page 1 of 1

How to autodiscover mikrotik

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:58 pm
by procad
How I can autodiscover mikrotik in my lan? It's an UPD? witch format?
I want to develope a little application by my self, like NeighborViewer, that retrieve informations about all mikrotik in the lan.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:01 pm
by normis
just use the dude

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:57 pm
by procad
ok...but if I want to develope a personal application?

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:59 pm
by normis
you can use ping, snmpwalk and other tools to discover devices and services

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:08 pm
by procad
but how can I be shure about to find mikrotik?

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:09 pm
by cmit
OK, let me pick that up. :D

I can see roughly what's happening when you press the "..." button in the WinBox connection dialog (broadcasts, ...) using a packet sniffer.

Would MikroTik open up the details of the possible responses of RouterOS devices?

Best regards,
Christian Meis

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:14 pm
by procad
Yes, something like that.

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:12 pm
by savage
MT uses CDP (Cisco Discovery Protocol), described in full at http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc ... /cisnm.htm

--
C

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:33 pm
by cmit
Banging ... my ... head ... on ... the ... wall ...

Thanks! Of course - that was to expect, as I can see our Ciscos with it :D

Best regards,
Christian Meis

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:28 am
by ice
BUT....
using CDP Monitor software we cannot scan MT.

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:29 pm
by savage
IP->Neighbours, and enable the discovery interfaces.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:47 am
by ice
They are enables. Simultaneously checking with Neighbor viewer shows MT. But with any other CDP MONITOR software MT is not discovered. I think MT is not 100% CDP.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:26 am
by savage
Works fine for me,
root@netsphere:~# cdpr
cdpr - Cisco Discovery Protocol Reporter
Version 2.2.0
Copyright (c) 2002-2004 - MonkeyMental.com

1. sis0 (No description available)
2. rl0 (No description available)
3. lo0 (No description available)
Enter the interface number (1-3):1
Using Device: sis0
Waiting for CDP advertisement:
(default config is to transmit CDP packets every 60 seconds)
Device ID
  value:  mikrotik-core02
Addresses
  value:  198.18.0.35

That's a CDP client on Unix picking up my mikrotik box. You don't perhaps have some firewalls somewhere dropping the packets?

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:13 pm
by ice
I am using CDP Monitor from TALLSOFT. It works on WINDOWS XP. It doesn't show. Do you know any software which works on Windows and can scan MT. I don't want to use Neighbor Viewer for some reason.

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:27 pm
by savage
Windows? unfortunately not.

Keep in mind, it is very possible that the firewall in SP2 may block this traffic...