Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
omberli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:23 pm

I'm trying to figure a routerboard (433 or 751) as a bridge that I want to use to limit bandwidth on the Ethernet port(s). I have (by using Winbox) to set one of the Ethernet interfaces to a max bw (Rx/Tx), but still full bandwidth on all ports (All ports are bridged together). Have also tried to create a simple queue with bw limitations, but still full speed.

Is it possible to set bw limitation in bridge mode?
If so - how?

-Olaf-
 
User avatar
c0d3rSh3ll
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: [admin@Chile] >

Re: Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:25 pm

For use queue feature in a bridge first you need setup enabled use-firewall- bridge in bridge menu.

Send from my mobile phone using Tapatalk.
nothing
 
User avatar
omberli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:57 pm

Thanks. Tried to enable firewall (filter in the Bridge menu?) (Using Router OS 6.5). Set up a rule "forward" and had ether1 as In and ether2 as Out interfaces (testing on a 433 board). Still full bandwidth through the bridge. Am a bit confused about the diffeent interfaces in this config - bridge, ether1, ether2 etc.
Any more comments.
 
User avatar
omberli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:36 pm

Am a bit confused. Had some contact with our Mikrotik distributor. They told me that BW control in a bridge isn't possible. The answer here seems to indicate that it IS possible...?

Could someone tell me what to do in order to get BW control in a Mikrotik bridge (Ethernet - Ethernet). If not possible in this config - what is the easiest way to set up BW control in Mikrotik (6.5)?
 
User avatar
omberli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Tue Dec 24, 2013 11:27 am

Update.
Finally got this BW limitation working!
The article at
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Transpare ... per#Bridge
was very helpful. Didn't have to set up more than a single, simple queue, so the mangle commands were not needed.

The main issue, I think, is that I didn't find the "use firewall" in the Bridge menu. When enabling it via console it worked just fine.

Thanks for your help.
 
nerdtron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:49 am

Re: Bandwidth limit on Ethernet port

Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:17 am

If it is Ethernet port limiting, you can create a simple queue in winbox to limit the speed per port.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBVqzYYnAJ8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheMac and 87 guests