Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Asket
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:33 am
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk

CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Fri Dec 13, 2013 11:31 am

Hi!
Can you help me with this problem? I have some CCR1036 (12G-4S+ and 8G-2S+ ), they are PPPoE BRAS. Traffic shaping uses Simple Queue (sending Mikrotik-Rate-Limit by Radius), but want use Queue Tree.
First, traffic mark -
[asket@PPPoE_STEND] /ip firewall mangle> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
 0   ;;; TEST_up
     chain=forward action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=TEST_30M_up passthrough=no src-address-list=30M

 1   ;;; TEST_down
     chain=forward action=mark-packet new-packet-mark=TEST_30M_down passthrough=no dst-address-list=30M

Second, making queue tree

[asket@PPPoE_STEND] /ip firewall mangle> /queue tree print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid
 0   name="Total_download" parent=global packet-mark="" limit-at=0 queue=default priority=1 max-limit=0 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

 1   name="Total_upload" parent=global packet-mark="" limit-at=0 queue=default priority=1 max-limit=0 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0 burst-time=0s

 2   name="TEST_30M_up" parent=Total_upload packet-mark=TEST_30M_up limit-at=0 queue=TEST_30M_up priority=1 max-limit=0 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0
     burst-time=0s

 3   name="TEST_30M_down" parent=Total_download packet-mark=TEST_30M_down limit-at=0 queue=TEST_30M_down priority=1 max-limit=0 burst-limit=0 burst-threshold=0

Next, queue types for upload and download traffic:
[asket@PPPoE_STEND] /queue type> print
[code]Flags: * - default
 ..................
 5   name="TEST_30M_down" kind=pcq pcq-rate=30M pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-total-limit=6400000 pcq-burst-rate=0 pcq-burst-threshold=0
     pcq-burst-time=10s pcq-src-address-mask=32 pcq-dst-address-mask=32 pcq-src-address6-mask=64 pcq-dst-address6-mask=64

 6   name="TEST_30M_up" kind=pcq pcq-rate=30M pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-total-limit=6400000 pcq-burst-rate=0 pcq-burst-threshold=0
     pcq-burst-time=10s pcq-src-address-mask=32 pcq-dst-address-mask=32 pcq-src-address6-mask=64 pcq-dst-address6-mask=64

 7 * name="pcq-upload-default" kind=pcq pcq-rate=0 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-total-limit=2000 pcq-burst-rate=0 pcq-burst-threshold=0
     pcq-burst-time=10s pcq-src-address-mask=32 pcq-dst-address-mask=32 pcq-src-address6-mask=128 pcq-dst-address6-mask=128

 8 * name="pcq-download-default" kind=pcq pcq-rate=0 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-total-limit=2000 pcq-burst-rate=0 pcq-burst-threshold=0
     pcq-burst-time=10s pcq-src-address-mask=32 pcq-dst-address-mask=32 pcq-src-address6-mask=128 pcq-dst-address6-mask=128
Connecting test client, Radius send Mikrotik-Address-List=30M, all good- speed is 30 Mbit/sec.

Making same rules for another tariffs - and speed decreases, maximum traffic 180 mbits (with simple queue - 600-700 mbits). Disable all queues, turning back simple queues - traffic increases.
What may be wrong? All setting from Megis example, nothing else.
 
User avatar
Asket
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:33 am
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:28 am

Okay, can anybody show me your queue tree work setting as example?
 
cursemipn
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:59 am
Location: Russia, Nizhnevartovsk

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:38 pm

I have this problem too. I don't know what to do.
 
User avatar
Asket
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:33 am
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:04 am

Using HTB interface, upload traffic works (maybe correctly), download traffic PCQ work wrong - PCQ queues opens for each packet (not for dst-address,as should be).
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24433
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:06 am

Currently we suggest to use simple queues - one per each customer on CCRs.
We are continiusly improving our software performance on CCR devices, one of the things that we plan to improve in nearest futureis HTB Global performance.
At this point we are finalizing ppp improvements that shows up to 16x performance improvements on PPTP,L2TP and PPPoE setups
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Asket
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:33 am
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:22 pm

Normis, thanks for advice! Is problems only with CCR devices or with ROS 6.X at all?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24433
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:38 am

Normis, thanks for advice! Is problems only with CCR devices or with ROS 6.X at all?
Currently only Simple Queue is optimised for multiple cores, so with Queue Tree you don't get the benefit of 36 cores, but with Simple Queues you do. This is the reason. There is no problem as such.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Asket
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:33 am
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:06 am

In queue tree we making speed change at night without sessions terminations. Simple queues can't do that... Simple Queue work correctly only if they are not exceed 1000-1200. We have CCR1036-8G-2S+, tariffs 16,20,30,50 Mbit/sec, PPPoE. All queues works good, but in maximum load (1800-2000 sessions) speed down and get unstable. Sometimes router stuck - no pppoe sessions and queues visible in winbox, restore only via reboot.
At this moment i see no exit from this situation - simple queues making problems, queue tree unusable.
 
User avatar
lcm
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:56 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:23 pm

Hi guys,

any plans to fix it? i really need it.
Greets from Brazil.

Luiz Claudio Martins Maia
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:28 am

Currently we suggest to use simple queues - one per each customer on CCRs.
We are continiusly improving our software performance on CCR devices, one of the things that we plan to improve in nearest futureis HTB Global performance.
At this point we are finalizing ppp improvements that shows up to 16x performance improvements on PPTP,L2TP and PPPoE setups
So this still on? So you mean it is better to use simple queues rather than queue tree? Simple queues are processed in a sequential order, when there's priorities involved or a big list of simple queues the last guys in the list get the worst service ... or am I wrong?

Queue tree is processed in parallel so there is no "last guys on the list" issue ...

Please explain your recommendation.

Regards

J. Boardman
 
pastik
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:00 am

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:08 pm

We had similar problem on CCR with 36cores. We have about 2000 SQ with PCQ defined. Internet speed and ping goes rapidly down when the traffic is huge, especially in the evening. One of the 36 cpu's had permanently 100% used in huge traffic. Support told me to use torrents with multiple connections, but how many of our customers know torrent ..., it is not any solution for testing internet speed, many of our customers told us they have slow internet and high ping, page loading is also very slow.
So we decided to build new PC with i5 CPU. Now everything is ok, i5 is faster then CCR cpu, but the overall cpu's load is higher then on CCR.
So i think, CCR would be good for shaping, but the rOS6.x has problem with fairly using of all of its 36 cores in huge traffic.
I think it is software problem and I hope, mikrotik will find a solution.

JohnP.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:03 pm

We had similar problem on CCR with 36cores. We have about 2000 SQ with PCQ defined. Internet speed and ping goes rapidly down when the traffic is huge, especially in the evening. One of the 36 cpu's had permanently 100% used in huge traffic. Support told me to use torrents with multiple connections, but how many of our customers know torrent ..., it is not any solution for testing internet speed, many of our customers told us they have slow internet and high ping, page loading is also very slow.
So we decided to build new PC with i5 CPU. Now everything is ok, i5 is faster then CCR cpu, but the overall cpu's load is higher then on CCR.
So i think, CCR would be good for shaping, but the rOS6.x has problem with fairly using of all of its 36 cores in huge traffic.
I think it is software problem and I hope, mikrotik will find a solution.

JohnP.
Yeap, exactly as you described it ....

JB
 
rpra
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:43 pm

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:17 pm

I have absolutely the same problem as the topic starter.
Using CCR 1016-12G ROS 6.13
Did not see this problem on x86.

Can anybody help?

I'd better use Mikrotik-Rate-Limit Simple Queues, but there still no CoA for PPPoE.. :(
It is asked for years.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: CCR1036 - Queue Tree low speed

Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:17 am

BUMP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 97 guests