Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
neandero
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:43 am
Location: Inside Mind

Tap Multiple RB... Request

Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:26 pm

Dear,

May you please work on winbox so that multiple routers can be viewed through same window with taps for each router.

thanks,
 
User avatar
OwenITGuy
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 6:04 am
Location: Iowa, USA & Bunia, DRCongo
Contact:

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:01 pm

I would agree that a multi-tab version of Winbox would be great! Nice suggestion.
Owen Fuller
IT Specialist with Mission Aviation Fellowship in D.R. Congo
http://livinglifefuller.com
 
ronix
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:51 pm

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:42 pm

great idea

+1
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:47 am

how would this be different from having multiple maximized winboxes, and clicking on the taskbar buttons (start menu bar)?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ronix
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:51 pm

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:33 pm

If you are trying to edit and monitor about 10 devices and more then you must open and minimize each one to discover which one that you want to edit
but in this case we can choose which one simply from the Identity name
so it will be very helpful to show the identity name of device in taps...
 
User avatar
soulflyhigh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:20 am

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:54 pm

I think it is more user-friendly to have multi-tab interface than a bunch of windows sitting in taskbar.
The taskbar sometimes can become very crowded place and at that point it is hard/slow to find/switch to correct winbox session.

Something very similar has already happened with web browsers, eventually all of them got multi-tab support in one form or another.
For me it would simply mean better visual ergonomics and less mouse movements while I work on 5 or 10 routers.

Still, I would appreciate much more some other things fixed/added than this cosmetic feature.
Not to mention resurrection of The Dude :)

So, it is +1 from me but not as a top priority.
MTCRE, MTCTCE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:00 pm

But in a Tabbed interface, nothing can be seen side by side. This doesn't solve any of your mentioned issues.
If you are trying to edit and monitor about 10 devices and more then you must open and minimize each one to discover which one that you want to edit
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
OwenITGuy
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 6:04 am
Location: Iowa, USA & Bunia, DRCongo
Contact:

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:25 pm

how would this be different from having multiple maximized winboxes, and clicking on the taskbar buttons (start menu bar)?
It's a simple convenience thing. Do you use tabs in your Web browser? One could argue that you could simple open every Web page in its own window, and switch between pages as well.

I personally use Winbox most frequently on Ubuntu with Wine. Sure I can right-click the Wine icon, and pick which router I want, but tabs are more visible. I also often move windows between monitors and work spaces depending if I'm referencing configuration notes in a spreadsheet or text file, chatting with a client on Skype, looking at the Winbox wiki, etc. At different times I like my windows at different areas on my workspaces. Moving one window can be quite a bit more convenient than moving many.
But in a Tabbed interface, nothing can be seen side by side. This doesn't solve any of your mentioned issues.
If you are trying to edit and monitor about 10 devices and more then you must open and minimize each one to discover which one that you want to edit
For those wanting side-by-side views, then there's always another option to open additional windows. Perhaps I'm reading into your comments a little, but it feels like maybe this request has you on the defensive a little. If several users say they'd find the feature useful based on the way they do their work, then does each individual need to justify why? Can you imagine a Web browser dev arguing with users about the worthlessness of tabbed browsing, because opening multiple windows works too? I'd respectfully ask you to consider the feature, even if you personally wouldn't find it useful.
Owen Fuller
IT Specialist with Mission Aviation Fellowship in D.R. Congo
http://livinglifefuller.com
 
zyzelis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:43 pm

+1 :)
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:24 pm

+2 :-)
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
bigguns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:03 am

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:12 am

+3 the ability to view multiple routers in tab form would be great. Always thought that was missing.
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:34 pm

+4
very good idea :)
 
log
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:37 am

Re: Tap Multiple RB... Request

Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:36 am

Good idea. Also i think it should show mt name on top of the tab like firefox has.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 60 guests