Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

CRS Configuration Help

Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:26 pm

I want to have 3 VLANs and 4 CRS.

VLAN 1 - Management
VLAN 2 - Private
VLAN 3 - Public

On CRS 1:
Port 1 - WAN
Port 2, 3, and 4 -> Uplink Ports to other CRS (VLAN1, VLAN2, and VLAN3)
Port 5 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 6 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 7 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 8 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

On CRS 2, 3, and 4:
Port 1 - Uplink from CRS 1
Port 2 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 3 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 4 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 5 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

I would like to do as much of this as possible, but am a little foggy on the configuration. I know on the switch chip on the RB2011 I would set the port modes to secure, and then add the vlans to the table with all ports in the same switch group. Can you shed some light on how this would be done on the CRS?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS Configuration Help

Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:38 pm

I want to have 3 VLANs and 4 CRS.

VLAN 1 - Management
VLAN 2 - Private
VLAN 3 - Public

On CRS 1:
Port 1 - WAN
Port 2, 3, and 4 -> Uplink Ports to other CRS (VLAN1, VLAN2, and VLAN3)
Port 5 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 6 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 7 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 8 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

On CRS 2, 3, and 4:
Port 1 - Uplink from CRS 1
Port 2 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 3 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 4 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 5 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

I would like to do as much of this as possible, but am a little foggy on the configuration. I know on the switch chip on the RB2011 I would set the port modes to secure, and then add the vlans to the table with all ports in the same switch group. Can you shed some light on how this would be done on the CRS?

Normis?... any help here?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: CRS Configuration Help

Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:14 pm

I want to have 3 VLANs and 4 CRS.

VLAN 1 - Management
VLAN 2 - Private
VLAN 3 - Public

On CRS 1:
Port 1 - WAN
Port 2, 3, and 4 -> Uplink Ports to other CRS (VLAN1, VLAN2, and VLAN3)
Port 5 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 6 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 7 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 8 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

On CRS 2, 3, and 4:
Port 1 - Uplink from CRS 1
Port 2 - VLAN1 Access Port
Port 3 - VLAN2 Access Port
Port 4 - VLAN3 Access Port
Port 5 to 24 - Trunk Ports to Access Points with VLAN2 and VLAN3

I would like to do as much of this as possible, but am a little foggy on the configuration. I know on the switch chip on the RB2011 I would set the port modes to secure, and then add the vlans to the table with all ports in the same switch group. Can you shed some light on how this would be done on the CRS?

Normis?... any help here?
MikroTik?... Any Help?
 
support
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:56 am

Re: CRS Configuration Help

Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:08 am

This type of scenario is a classic setup for our hotel chains.
We currently use ZyXEL switches but are looking to replace them with CRS switches.

We monitor and manage a range of in-room RB951G's that have multiple guest SSID's and management interfaces.

I am also trying to get the CRS switch to work the same way efaden has written about.

Anyone got a config for the switches in this scenario?


Dave

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 93 guests