Community discussions

 
techstarr
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:34 pm

Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:42 pm

I am new to this product. I wanted to configure it just so ether11 will connect direct to the ISP and one switch group will be used to distribute the pool of Public IPs provided by the ISP.

I have configured ether11 to point to the ISP and ether1 to ether5 are now configured for IP distribution. My issue is from the switchports ether1 to ether5 I could ping each of the hosts connected but from this switch group, I could not connect to ether11 for internet access.

Any help would be appreciated.

techstarr
 
RouteRite
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:30 am

Re: Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:00 pm

I am guessing that your default route is not set properly.

Post your configuration file?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:44 pm

I am new to this product. I wanted to configure it just so ether11 will connect direct to the ISP and one switch group will be used to distribute the pool of Public IPs provided by the ISP.

I have configured ether11 to point to the ISP and ether1 to ether5 are now configured for IP distribution. My issue is from the switchports ether1 to ether5 I could ping each of the hosts connected but from this switch group, I could not connect to ether11 for internet access.

Any help would be appreciated.

techstarr
Post your export and a diagram of your network if you have one. Otherwise we are working blind.
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:13 pm

I am new to this product. I wanted to configure it just so ether11 will connect direct to the ISP and one switch group will be used to distribute the pool of Public IPs provided by the ISP.

I have configured ether11 to point to the ISP and ether1 to ether5 are now configured for IP distribution. My issue is from the switchports ether1 to ether5 I could ping each of the hosts connected but from this switch group, I could not connect to ether11 for internet access.

Any help would be appreciated.

techstarr
This should be a good start:
  • /interface bridge
    add admin-mac= arp=enabled auto-mac=no l2mtu=1598 name=\
    Loopback protocol-mode=rstp

    /interface bridge port
    add bridge=Loopback interface=ether1
    add bridge=Loopback interface=ether6

    /interface ethernet
    set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=ether1 speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether2 ] master-port=ether1 name=ether2 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether3 ] master-port=ether1 name=ether3 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether1 name=ether4 \
    speed=1Gbp
    set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether1 name=ether5 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether6 ] name=ether6 speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether7 ] master-port=ether6 name=ether7 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether8 ] master-port=ether6 name=ether8 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether9 ] master-port=ether6 name=ether9 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether10 ] master-port=ether6 name=ether10 \
    speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether11 ] name=ether11 speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether12 ] name=ether12 speed=1Gbps
    set [ find default-name=ether13 ] disabled=yes name=ether13

    /ip dhcp-client
    add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no \
    interface=ether11 use-peer-ntp=yes

    /ip firewall nat
    add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="" \
    out-interface=ether11
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:24 pm

Your configuration is pretty typical if you are receiving a DHCP address from your ISP and NAT'ing that/ those addresses to the hosts on the LAN. That doesn't sound like it is what you are trying to do. Are you wanting to route the IP addresses to your hosts? Are you trying to bridge them to the host?
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
techstarr
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: Basic Configuration - Mikrotik Routerboard 1100 AHX2

Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:43 pm

Thanks gents for the replies. Thanks w0lt and RouteRite, your suggestions are perfect for what I am trying to accomplish.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 17 guests