Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
seanretsys
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:35 am

Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connection

Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:55 am

Hi, we have a Mikrotik 750G,
ether1: new fibre connection
ether2: adsl connection
ether3: 4g connection
ether4: 4g connection
ether5: LAN connection

Ether 1/2/3/4 have Master Port set to none

My new fibre connection:
IP Address: 203.153.240.26
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.252
Default Gateway: 203.153.240.25 (actual fibre box)

In my address list I have added a new address:
address: 203.153.240.26/24
Network: 203.153.240.0
Interface: ether1

Route List:
Dst. Address: 0.0.0.0/0
Gateway: 203.153.240.25 (reachable)
Type: unicast
Distance: 1
Scope: 30
Target Scope: 10
Routing Mark: (ether1)

I have set my pc's ip address in Firewall/Address Lists to use the (ether1) connection, but my internet does not work.
I have connected directly to the fibre to check the internet connection and it works fine.

Any ideas, anyone?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connectio

Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:30 am

IP Address: 203.153.240.26
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.252
In my address list I have added a new address:
address: 203.153.240.26/24
Shouldn't this be
address: 203.153.240.26/30
Also, are you NATting (src-nat) traffic egressing on ether1?
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
seanretsys
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:35 am

Re: Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connectio

Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:26 am

Hi, when I changed the address to 203.153.240.26/30, the network below changes to 203.153.240.24, this IP does not exist, but in the route list it shows up as reachable.
Yes I am NATting (src-nat) traffic egressing on ether1.

NAT Rule
Chain: srcnat
Dst. Address: 203.153.240.26
Out. Interface: ether1
Action: src-nat
To Address: 203.153.240.25 (.25 is the address of the fibre box)

Still no internet!
 
seanretsys
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:35 am

Re: Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connectio

Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:22 am

I spoke to a mate back in South Africa and he asked to to add
CHAIN (srcnat) SRC. ADDRESS (192.168.10.0/24) OUT INTERFACE (your 4g conn) ………. ACTION TAB > MASQUERADE

This works like a charm!
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connectio

Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:59 am

Hi, when I changed the address to 203.153.240.26/30, the network below changes to 203.153.240.24, this IP does not exist, but in the route list it shows up as reachable.
You said that the subnetmask was 255.255.255.252. This equates to 30 bits. This means that your network address is 203.153.240.24, usable addresses are 203.153.240.25 and 203.153.240.26 and your broadcast address is 203.153.240.27.
Yes I am NATting (src-nat) traffic egressing on ether1.
The next suggestion would have been to have checked the NAT rule. Seems you've done that and it now works!
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Mikrotik not allowing me to use a new internet connectio

Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:03 pm

Hi, when I changed the address to 203.153.240.26/30, the network below changes to 203.153.240.24, this IP does not exist, but in the route list it shows up as reachable.
Yes I am NATting (src-nat) traffic egressing on ether1.

NAT Rule
Chain: srcnat
Dst. Address: 203.153.240.26
Out. Interface: ether1
Action: src-nat
To Address: 203.153.240.25 (.25 is the address of the fibre box)

Still no internet!
The to-address should be your router address!
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 91 guests