Community discussions

 
isaacu
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:18 pm

RB450 Port Based Switching scenerio.

Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:38 pm

Hey all..
Banging my head on the wall about this one. I need to configure a RB450 as a simple switch with an up-link port and two downstream ports that CANNOT see each other.. When the traffic leaves the switch on any port it DOES NOT need to be tagged. I have seen many (router on a stick) examples, but none that meet my needs. The scenario is as follows.
A server and two hosts are connected to a RB450.
Both hosts can see the server and the server can see both hosts.
The hosts CANNOT see each other.
I have done this with much cheaper hardware, but would like to do it with RBs for reliability and peace of mind.
HELPME.jpg
Any help would be greatly appreciated
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: RB450 Port Based Switching scenerio.

Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:11 am

Solution 1 (L2 hardware):
Put the ports 1 to 3 in a switch (1 is master, 2 and 3 are slaves).
Then, under Switch->Rule create 2 rules, to redirect traffic from port 2 to port 1 and from port 3 to port 1.

Solution 2 (L2 software):
Create a bridge for ports 2 and 3.
Under Bridge->Filters create the proper forward rules.

Solution 3 (L2/L3 software):
Keep ports independent, set up a small subnet for each port/machine and use IP->firewall->Filter Rules to set the proper forward filters.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
vadimbn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Russia, Berdsk
Contact:

Re: RB450 Port Based Switching scenerio.

Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:42 am

Solution 1 (L2 hardware):
Put the ports 1 to 3 in a switch (1 is master, 2 and 3 are slaves).
Then, under Switch->Rule create 2 rules, to redirect traffic from port 2 to port 1 and from port 3 to port 1.
Small addition... This solution will not work with RB450 (without G). Rules and rule table are not supported by the switch chip ICPlus175 in this model.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sw ... p_Features
Veni. Vidi. Feci.
RBSXTLTE3-7, CRS326-24G-2S+RM, RB850Gx2, RBMRTG, RB1100AHx4, RB750Gr3, RBD52G-5HacD2HnD-TC, Woobm-USB
 
isaacu
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:18 pm

Re: RB450 Port Based Switching scenerio.

Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:30 am

BRILLIANT!!!!
This is exactly what I needed and it works. Thanks for letting me know about the chipset issue.

Many Many thanks.
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Re: RB450 Port Based Switching scenerio.

Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:55 pm

Alternative, super-simple solution: create a bridge, put ether1, ether2, and ether3 in the bridge, and set the horizon value for ether2 and ether3 to the same number. Split horizon bridging isn't just for VPLS. :) Read more here: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MPLSVPLS# ... n_bridging

-- Nathan

P.S. -- What is this thread doing in the BETA forum?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests