Community discussions

 
Thomathy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:34 pm

RB2011 freezing

Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:11 pm

Hello.

I have three x RB2011s. They all have slightly different configurations, are at different locations, and aren't related to one another. One of them ran fine for a while, but then started freezing regularly. When this happened, the router passed no traffic, and did not respond to a ping on any IP. I could not access it via Winbox when attaching directly to it.

I replaced this with new hardware (but the same backed-up-and-restored configuration). But because I had lost some trust in the unit, and also was concerned it could be a config issue, I installed also another router which took on most of the traffic load and left it doing only a couple of specific tasks. Since then, the problem has not recurred. Though it has only been a couple of days. So I began to think this could have been a hardware issue.

Until today, when another one of the RB2011s at another site appears frozen. It too, appears not to respond to pings on any interface, and is also inaccessible via Winbox.

Any obvious or well-known causes? Is it usual for a MikroTik router to just stop responding? The configs are different. They do both have IPsec policies set up, and are both doing outbound NAT, but there are no other commonalities. Both are on software 6.10 with RouterBoard 3.12.

Thanks,

Thomas
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: RB2011 freezing

Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:47 pm

We use the RB2011 series a lot and, although we have found some bugs along the way, we have not had a problem with them freezing up. Are you moving the backup file back and forth between routers and restoring it that way? That will cause problems on all platforms. The correct way to copy and export the config is to use the export command. I wasn't sure from how you stated it if that is what you are doing or not.
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:28 pm

Hello.

I have three x RB2011s. They all have slightly different configurations, are at different locations, and aren't related to one another. One of them ran fine for a while, but then started freezing regularly. When this happened, the router passed no traffic, and did not respond to a ping on any IP. I could not access it via Winbox when attaching directly to it.

I replaced this with new hardware (but the same backed-up-and-restored configuration). But because I had lost some trust in the unit, and also was concerned it could be a config issue, I installed also another router which took on most of the traffic load and left it doing only a couple of specific tasks. Since then, the problem has not recurred. Though it has only been a couple of days. So I began to think this could have been a hardware issue.

Until today, when another one of the RB2011s at another site appears frozen. It too, appears not to respond to pings on any interface, and is also inaccessible via Winbox.

Any obvious or well-known causes? Is it usual for a MikroTik router to just stop responding? The configs are different. They do both have IPsec policies set up, and are both doing outbound NAT, but there are no other commonalities. Both are on software 6.10 with RouterBoard 3.12.

Thanks,

Thomas
Are those 2011UiAS-2HnD by any chance ? I have 3 pieces that i cannot get over 3 weeks of uptime, they hang completely, i need to replug them to get them back online.
 
adairw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:08 am

I've had issues with a few 2011's locking up. In the beginning I just replaced them with another board. Than I read a thread about the same issue and upgrading to 6.x was the fix. What's weird is some of my 2011's have ran for months and months then start having problems out of no where and a power cycle was the only fix. So this last time, I rebooted,
Upgraded to 6.10 and.... So far so good. I've started upgrading some of "bad/problem" units and re deploying them... Worth a shot.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:05 am

In general, the fix by upgrading the RouterOS version to at least v6.6 and RouterBoot to at least v3.10 will fix a temporary (3-5s) hang of the gigabit connection to the five port gigabit switch -- which we have seen occur up to once a day when the gigabit Ethernet was under full load on a small number of boards (most devices do not show this issue).
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:00 am

They are running 6.7 / 3.10 , eth1 as WAN on 100mbit link, ISP WAN bandwidth at 20mbit, all other gigabit ports connected at 100 mbit.
Other than usual firewall and regular wireless they are running IPSEC / RIP.
Routers still hang.
 
marrold
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:45 am

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:54 am

I had issues using an RB2011 with IPSEC/L2TP and OSPF on ROS Ver 6.10. All IP traffic would die, but LCD/console would work as normal.

If I consoled in and then tried to ping out, I'd get an error about the buffer being full. Only rebooting would resolve the issue.

Downgrading to 6.7 has fixed it.
I'm a SIP / VoIP engineer. Feel free to ask questions...
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:13 am

Is it the same with 6.11?
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:25 am

I had issues using an RB2011 with IPSEC/L2TP and OSPF on ROS Ver 6.10. All IP traffic would die, but LCD/console would work as normal.

If I consoled in and then tried to ping out, I'd get an error about the buffer being full. Only rebooting would resolve the issue.

Downgrading to 6.7 has fixed it.
Already running 6.7 and the routers are in a remote location so i cannot connect a console cable to see what is going on.
Worked around the problem by resetting the routers every night which is stupid but works.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:34 am

McTedson and the others if the problem is fixed by downgrading the RouterOS then it is not a hardware problem. It looks like more a software problem.
Please contact the support@mikrotik.com with this problem and also include the support output file.
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:02 pm

McTedson and the others if the problem is fixed by downgrading the RouterOS then it is not a hardware problem. It looks like more a software problem.
Please contact the support@mikrotik.com with this problem and also include the support output file.
The problem is not fixed for me by downgrading.
If I upgrade to 6.11 then it breaks OpenVPN [Ticket#2014040866000445] which makes my trigger-happy customer unhappy.
I also don't think it's a hardware problem, the routers are brand new (2 months old). Unless for example there's some bad ram issue like the Ubiquity had with their edgepro lite stuff a few months ago ?
There's no autogenerated supout when they hang, do you mean me manually making one ?
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:09 pm

Just had an idea. I can remote syslog the routers to a machine in the network that will store the logs so in case the router breaks , i might have something to send.
Question is , what topics should I log ??
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:41 pm

McTedson, looks like you have different problem (symptoms) like the original post. Please post in other topic about your board problem.
Also contact support@miktotik.com about this problem so we could try to help to fix that.
 
McTedson
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: .ro

Re: RB2011 freezing

Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:44 pm

McTedson, looks like you have different problem (symptoms) like the original post. Please post in other topic about your board problem.
Also contact support@miktotik.com about this problem so we could try to help to fix that.
They way I see it I have exactly the same issues only he's on 6.10 and I'm on 6.7.
 
Thomathy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:49 pm

My original problem seemed to be the same on several routers, all running 6.11 and firmware 3.12. I did not experience the problem on the (much older) 5.x software they were supplied with. But, this older software did not support a feature I needed. So, they didn't get much of a workout on the old firmware before I upgraded them and I am not sure if the problem is related to the software version or not.

I never did resolve the 'why' question. But I did find that I could prevent the symptoms by simply adding a reboot script to reboot each RouterBoard in the early hours each day. For my use case, this brief daily interruption is acceptable. I wonder if it is a memory leak or connection exhaustion or something similar?

Thanks,

Thomas
 
Thomathy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: RB2011 freezing

Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:09 pm

Are you moving the backup file back and forth between routers and restoring it that way? That will cause problems on all platforms.
Hi Rick,

No. Each router I started from scratch out of the box and then configured from there. I have only configured via the GUI as I wasn't confident with the command line and config files as a beginner. I haven't copied the config between routers.

Thanks,

Thomas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 112 guests