Page 1 of 1

Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:27 am
by maxcuban
hello everyone,
I recently bought an RB2011 and I’m expecting my ISP to install a second connection.
Can I have the load balancing as well as hotspot setup on the same router?

Does it require special setup apart from the usual load balancing and hotspot setup? and if it does where can i read on them?

Thanks,
Max

Re: Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:31 pm
by rahulmkhj
I guess, no additional special configuration is required.

Re: Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:09 am
by maxcuban
I just wished you had a practical experience with such a setup but I'm glad you responded though.

Thanks

Re: Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:40 am
by nerdtron
What type of load balancing would you do?
If PCC, it is possible, but a bit difficult, not to mention the using multiple gateways can disrupt some https website.

It would be better if you create 2 lans, then make gateway 1 as the default route for lan 1, then gateway 2 as the default route route for lan 2.

Re: Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:45 pm
by maxcuban
What type of load balancing would you do?
If PCC, it is possible, but a bit difficult, not to mention the using multiple gateways can disrupt some https website.
.
As a newbie, what do you think is the easier approach? If I get another RB to do the load balancing then connect it to my current router for the hotspot will it be much easier?

Can you point me to an appropriate link I can read that is suitable for a beginner?

Thanks.

Re: Load Balancing + Hotspot

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:55 am
by nerdtron
This what I followed http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Load_Bala ... e_Gateways
Basically, you'll have two LANs each with its own ISP.