Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

copy and edit settings to import in other device

Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:53 am

Hi,
I want to use the configuration of a RB951G2HnD and do some little changes like IP and VLAN and than import it to an new RB951G2HnD.
Is this possibile?
I was thinking to do it like this:
on the working device I do:
/export name=Original
Than copy this file to my conputer.
Edit it wit an editor (changed the IP and what I want to change).
Then copy it with winbox to thenew device (the rcs file).
Then on the new device:
/import file-name=Original.rsc

Is this correct?
Does this overrite the configuration or does it add?
Do I have to reset the new device with no configiruation or can I do the import without clearing the default settings?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: copy and edit settings to import in other device

Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:04 am

First, on system / packages check if on both boards are present same vesion and same packages active or not.

After you have modified original.rsc and save with name newconfig.rsc ,
drag the file newconfig.rsc (called with this name) on the new machine and paste this command on terminal:

WARINING: ALL PREVIOUS CONTENT ON NEW MACHINE ARE DELETED!!!
/system reset-configuration skip-backup=yes keep-user=no no-default=yes run-after-reset=newconfig.rsc
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: copy and edit settings to import in other device

Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:11 am

Thanks a lot.
I will try it.
Sounds good.
I let you know
 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: copy and edit settings to import in other device

Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:41 am

Hi,
I have done some tests.
It is not working well.
I see there are some MAC addresses in the export.
I have created Virtual AP's and than it bind to the existing WLAN interface and adds the MAC addres.
I have allso problems with the bride ports.
There the script stops so everyting what is else in the script is not imported. SO I get a none complete configuration.
 
nerdtron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:49 am

Re: copy and edit settings to import in other device

Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:26 am

/export
Then copy and paste to notepad.
Remove info such as MAC addresses as they will be automatically added.
Paste again on next router.
Done.
 
49er
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: copy and edit settings to import in other device

Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:06 am

Works! Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amu, anav, creatin, eworm, Google [Bot], HakanE, jetherson, r00t, saltynomad, shahjaufar and 150 guests