Community discussions

 
koMar
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:12 am

hardware for pppoe server

Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:35 pm

Hi all!

What is your reccomendation for routerboard for PPPOE Server? I am planning to have about 400 users/pppoe sessions running.. Also, this router will be the Core router. It will handle firewall traffic, NAT, scripting, MPLS, routing. All traffic that is comming from our towers (we are wisp) at end is going through this router. We have 100 mbit/s internet connection and so far 300 users.

Is it RouterBOARD 1100Hx2 enough? Or if not, will it do if i go with two RouterBOARD 1100Hx2 in load balance?
Or should i just go with cloud core router (16 cores).. although redundancy will be more expensive with this model..

Thanks!

Regards,
Marko
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:21 pm

RB1100AHx2
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:22 pm

I would use one of the Cloud Cores. Yes, the smaller ones should be able to handle that load. The 1100AH will probably handle it just fine, but for the price difference why not just use one of the CCRs that you know will handle it and will grow with you? If you have plans to upgrade your ISP, the CCR will be a better choice for you in the long run.
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:27 pm

Is better one sinlge CCR with no redundancy or two RB1100AHx2 with redundancy?
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
koMar
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:12 am

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:56 pm

Thanks all on answers!

Yes, that's my question too.. i agree it's better to buy cloud router if planning to have more users.. but two of those is expensive.. is it better like rextended said to use two of AHx2 or one cloud core?
Do you have some experience with redundancy? Does it work ok? If yes, in my opinion two AHx2 is better because you have redundancy and still 2x2 cores..
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:02 pm

I have 2 RB1100AH (not x2) as router for 4 100Mbps link (2 for each rb) bi-directional guaranted with InteRoute.

and 4 RB1100AHx2 as Gateway (PPPoE server, firewall, NAT, etc.) each one have from 700 to 1000 users.

Each RB are cross-connected for failover.


All this hardware are still to RouterOS 6.7 and BIOS [firmware] 3.10
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
koMar
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:12 am

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:58 pm

Thx rextended,

How did you setup pppoe redundancy?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:03 pm

Thx rextended,

How did you setup pppoe redundancy?
I use EoIP between each single wlanX to multiple PPPoE server inside same Gateway.

On the Access Point are one script and change EoIP dst accordingly to what Gateway are reachable, if the default for that panel are unreachable
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
magnavox
Member
Member
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Thu Nov 12, 2015 3:14 pm

Thx rextended,

How did you setup pppoe redundancy?
I use EoIP between each single wlanX to multiple PPPoE server inside same Gateway.

On the Access Point are one script and change EoIP dst accordingly to what Gateway are reachable, if the default for that panel are unreachable
@rextended

How manage load balancing to PPPoE Servers?
Best Regards...
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:24 am

@rextended

How manage load balancing to PPPoE Servers?

I do not do it automatcally,
I move the EoIP "end" by "hand" on the more free server based on my statistics.

Load balancing can not be automatic.
The user must not be disconnected each time the connection must be "moved".
Also, you can not disconnect users, you can eventually only force just-powered-on users on new servers by script.
(I do not have made that script, and I not know if someone have written it)

For balancing (manually without EoIP) you can use on CPE "pppoe-out" the fields
"Service" (= /interface pppoe-server "Service Name" of PPPoE Server entry)
or
"AC Name" (Access Concentrator Name = "/system identity "name" of the PPPoE Server)
on "PPPoE Client"s
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
magnavox
Member
Member
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:25 pm

@rextended

For balancing (manually without EoIP) you can use on CPE "pppoe-out" the fields
"Service" (= /interface pppoe-server "Service Name" of PPPoE Server entry)
or
"AC Name" (Access Concentrator Name = "/system identity "name" of the PPPoE Server)
on "PPPoE Client"s
True, but this is a static assignation and need activate the Service Name on other NAS if a NAS die... ;)
Best Regards...
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:21 pm

i think between

rb1100ahx2 at 350us

and

CCR1009-8G-1S-1Splus at 495 us

the best investment is the ccr1009, because it costs 1.5x the rb1100 but gives at least 3.0x the performance


the best money vs performance its the cheapest version of ccr1036 it cost 2.0x the ccr1009 (995us) but gives at least 4.0x the performance


rb1100ahx2 vs CCR1036-12G-4S

ccr1036 costs 3.0x the rb1100 but gives at least 12.0x the performance
 
magnavox
Member
Member
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: hardware for pppoe server

Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:42 pm

CCR sure!
Best Regards...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 91 guests