Community discussions

 
pathogenhk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 9:34 am

Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Tue May 20, 2014 10:15 am

I don't know why the following setup doesn't work and it should.

RouterOS ver: 6.12 & 6.13
Hardware: RB951G
OVPN status: Connection is established without any problem.

Setup:
Image
OVPN server in ethernet mode and bridged with LAN segment.

Problem:
PC1 can ping PC2.
However PC1 cannot ping RB961G LAN gateway IP(192.168.88.1).
PC1 able to get gateway MAC from ARP request.
Wireshark showed RB961G reply every ping with ARP request but PC1 MAC already in RB961G ARP table.
Image
Image
Image

Thank you for your help.
 
arsik
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:56 pm

Re: Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Wed May 21, 2014 11:10 am

The same problem. In 6.7 it was normal, 6.13 does not work.
Just does not work PPTP-client <-> OVPN-client
 
DmitryM
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 8:35 am

Re: Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Thu May 29, 2014 8:42 am

I have the same problem in routeros > 6.7.
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Thu May 29, 2014 10:30 am

I have same problem, contact support 24.3.2014. for now no answer on my ticket. Other thread about problem http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85090
 
Ulypka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:26 am

Re: Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Thu May 29, 2014 12:05 pm

I have same problem [Ticket#2014051466000539].
 
User avatar
rmmccann
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Cannot ping gateway when using OpenVPN TAP + bridging

Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:27 pm

Mikrotik is a peace of **it. All our private network is now disabled after upgrade to the new firmware. We use such bridged openvpn network AND IT MUST WORK. I can't check all nodes from the Mikrotik now. The using of none-bridged openvpn network is also not working due to haven't ping between clients.
Sounds like a good reason to test something IN LAB before deploying to production.
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools. --Douglas Adams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 95 guests