Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
obadaabdullah
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:41 pm

MAC ping

Sun May 25, 2014 10:35 am

hi all
this is an IP script
[/ping 192.168.10.250 arp-ping=yes interface=out1 count=3]

is there any way to ping through mac?
192.168.10.250 MAC's is xx:xx:xx:xx
i tried the netwatch and ping but nthey give me (timed out)
any help??
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: MAC ping

Wed May 28, 2014 3:40 pm

/ping D4:AA:BD:BE:9F:85 arp-ping=yes interface=out-interface count=3
or
/ping [/ip arp get [/ip arp find where address="192.168.0.112" ] value-name=mac-address] arp-ping=yes interface=out-interface count=3
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
vitaly777
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:35 am
Location: Estonia

Re: MAC ping

Wed May 28, 2014 4:08 pm

[quote="rextended"]
/ping D4:AA:BD:BE:9F:85 arp-ping=yes interface=out-interface count=3
I have tried, but not working..

PS. ping by IP was successful.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: MAC ping

Wed May 28, 2014 8:37 pm

/ping D4:AA:BD:BE:9F:85 arp-ping=yes interface=out-interface count=3
I have tried, but not working..

PS. ping by IP was successful.
you probabily fail because the MAC must be on arp table, or you chose wrong interface, or you try to ping one mac of the router itself: not work
or you try to ping non-RouterOS device

I add one thing for set right interface:
/ping 00:0C:42:AA:BB:CC arp-ping=yes interface=[/ip arp get [find where mac-address="00:0C:42:AA:BB:CC" ] value-name=interface] count=3
or
/ping [/ip arp get [find where address="192.168.0.98" ] value-name=mac-address] arp-ping=yes interface=[/ip arp get [find where address="192.168.0.98" ] value-name=interface] count=3
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
obadaabdullah
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: MAC ping

Fri May 30, 2014 7:23 pm

/ping D4:AA:BD:BE:9F:85 arp-ping=yes interface=out-interface count=3
I have tried, but not working..

PS. ping by IP was successful.
you probabily fail because the MAC must be on arp table, or you chose wrong interface, or you try to ping one mac of the router itself: not work
or you try to ping non-RouterOS device

I add one thing for set right interface:
/ping 00:0C:42:AA:BB:CC arp-ping=yes interface=[/ip arp get [find where mac-address="00:0C:42:AA:BB:CC" ] value-name=interface] count=3
or
/ping [/ip arp get [find where address="192.168.0.98" ] value-name=mac-address] arp-ping=yes interface=[/ip arp get [find where address="192.168.0.98" ] value-name=interface] count=3

the mac is a nanostation m2 mac's and it is on the arp table and it's the right interface , but it does't work!!
P.S: would you pleas take a look on this
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85104
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: MAC ping

Fri May 30, 2014 8:49 pm

read again:

you probabily fail because [...] you try to ping non-RouterOS device


YOU CAN NOT PING NON-ROUTEROS DEVICE (or RouterOS device with MAC Ping Server disabled)

UNDERSTAND?
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
obadaabdullah
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: MAC ping

Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:13 am

read again:

you probabily fail because [...] you try to ping non-RouterOS device


YOU CAN NOT PING NON-ROUTEROS DEVICE (or RouterOS device with MAC Ping Server disabled)

UNDERSTAND?

"Yes ma'am"
 
jaytcsd
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:50 am
Location: Pittsboro IN
Contact:

Re: MAC ping

Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:31 am

IP / neighbor list shows my Nanostation
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: MAC ping

Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:00 am

IP / neighbor list shows my Nanostation
Also show Cisco device, if you have.

But you can not MAC ping that devices, because do not have MAC ping server (on the software version I know)
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DarkNate, keshawnmc2007, kocouj1, willi21, Znevna and 109 guests