Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
rpra
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:43 pm

x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:21 pm

I've changed my ubuntu NAS to mikrotik and ran into problems:

ROS version 6.15
I have about 700 pppoe sessions, nat, 400 mbit max bandwidth.
I have double port Intel nic, ROS shows: 82576 Gigabit Network Connection (rev: 1)
Port 1 is for uplinks, 2 for downlinks, 100 vlan ifaces there.

After a several hours working I have packet loss on downlink port.

Trying to ping internal pppoe customer IP's from router and see 105 (no buffer space available).

Uplinks works as usual, cant's see any drops. Reboot helps for some time.
Downgraded to 6.7, now testing.

I suppose x86 is not the choice for new ROS versions, should migrate to CCR? :D
 
cursemipn
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:59 am
Location: Russia, Nizhnevartovsk

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Wed Nov 05, 2014 7:12 am

Up this topic.
ROS version 6.21
I have qos,nat,dhcp-server and some firewall rules
600 Mbit traffic
After 30 min MT drops traffic on all interfaces. Try ping any host and we see "105 (no buffer space available)". Downgrade to ROS 6.5 and problem is gone. Flow control disable. DNS cache disable.
Any ideas?
 
cursemipn
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:59 am
Location: Russia, Nizhnevartovsk

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:54 am

UP. 6.22 Still does not work.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24361
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:12 am

Have you tried other NIC and cable? Packet loss in all versions sounds like a hardware issue
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:53 pm

Have you tried other NIC and cable? Packet loss in all versions sounds like a hardware issue
Because of "no buffer space available" and the fact that it works in 6.7 but not in any version after that, I am guessing it is a PPP-related software issue, as I describe in the other thread (http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 21#p456298).

-- Nathan
 
rpra
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:43 pm

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:16 pm

Sorry for not informing in time, I don't remember what exactly solved that problem.
I guess that changing NIC is the way. I am still using that server, but with MT NIC.

Mikrotik do not have actual versions of igb drivers, and unfortunately they don't mind.

Now I am using RB44Ge on several NASes - no problems at all!
 
chrisw
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:24 pm

Re: x86: 105 (no buffer space available )

Fri Nov 28, 2014 8:51 pm

I had a similar issue on a CCR1036. We tried to put it into production with approximately 1700 pppoe clients, once peak hours came along, it topped off about 450mbps (normal peak for us is 650mbps) and then the packet loss started. Having to scramble to put our old router in place was no fun.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dad2312, digin4, eworm, zuliantoe and 102 guests