Community discussions

 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:11 pm

It seems like the mikrotik is keeping the DNS entries in cache a lot longer than their TTL?

TTLs with 5 minutes are in the cache table for 1 hour. Is there a reason for this?
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:29 pm

Are you sure the reply coming of one TTL of 5 minutes?
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:49 pm

Are you sure the reply coming of one TTL of 5 minutes?
you know what... I'm using unotelly DNS, and it seems they make everything one hour minimum.... really! Thats a pain in the butt!
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:58 pm

RouterOS version?

I have 6.15 on both DNS Servers and my local router, but the entry are dynamic (3min [clients.l.google.com], 5 min [any.edge.bing.com], 30 sec, etc.), not forced to 1h

For security I flush DNS for see if really 5 min DNS are fresh on not timeouted from 1h...
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
odge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:31 pm

RouterOS version?

I have 6.15 on both DNS Servers and my local router, but the entry are dynamic (3min [clients.l.google.com], 5 min [any.edge.bing.com], 30 sec, etc.), not forced to 1h

For security I flush DNS for see if really 5 min DNS are fresh on not timeouted from 1h...
Thanks for the help, but the last post I made is saying its not the mikrotik, its the unotelly DNS service that is changing it from 5 minutes to 1 hour. (And there is nothing wrong with the RouterOS).

Thanks again.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: DNS cache

Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:55 pm

AH! UnoTelly SmartDNS!

I have read wrong,

sorry but I not know that service... :(
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 103 guests