Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:38 pm

Does anybody on here use the YouView IPTV set-top box here in the UK?

I'm having some difficulties setting up IGMP and would like to discuss your progress/experience in setting it up.

The closest resource I have found on the net, but it is not detailed enough of a guide is here: https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-box ... -p/1137730
 
CblP
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Tue Jul 01, 2014 10:28 pm

I didn't bother with IGMP package,
just used switch rules to forward anything coming from STB port to ISP port,
and to direct returning traffic back into the STB port.
pretty easy, reliable, and doesn't eat any CPU resources at all.
I would highly recommend using switch rules for this If your tik is capable (check here http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sw ... p_Features)
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:21 pm

I see. Thanks for sharing!
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:26 pm

I... used switch rules to forward anything coming from STB port to ISP port,
and to direct returning traffic back into the STB port.
I'm using the RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN. I do currently use the switch chip for four of the Ethernet ports. I could modify the config indeed. Could you explain your set up a bit? Post your switch config? Thanks.
 
leonset
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:09 pm

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Fri Jul 04, 2014 1:43 pm

I have no experience with that IPTV provider, but also IGMP Proxy should work ok and would be more dynamic than static switch rules, i.e. if you move your STB to different ports. Oh, well, you might never move it!
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:00 pm

I have no experience with that IPTV provider, but also IGMP Proxy should work ok and would be more dynamic than static switch rules, i.e. if you move your STB to different ports. Oh, well, you might never move it!
This comment doesn't add any value, but I'll be happy to review your edit should you make one.
 
CblP
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:05 am

Re: IPTV IGMP - YouView Box (UK)

Mon Jul 07, 2014 8:50 am

Could you explain your set up a bit? Post your switch config? Thanks.
I have set ether4(stb port) to be a slave of ether5(ISP port).
this way STB can talk to iptv service without any configuration from my side, and without any CPU interaction.
I also added the following:
/interface ethernet switch rule
add dst-port=5050 new-dst-ports=ether4 ports=ether5
obviously this forwards any traffic coming from ISP(ether5) on port 5050 to ether4 (STB).
This prevents this traffic from hitting the CPU port, lowering your system load.
my ISP broadcasts media streams on this port, yours might differ, so, use the torch or packet sniffer to find out yours.
Also I noticed some garbage traffic not meant for me, so, filtered that out as well:
add dst-mac-address=01:00:5E:7F:FF:FA/01:00:5E:7F:FF:FA new-dst-ports="" \
    ports=ether5
add dst-mac-address=CF:00:00:00:00:00/CF:00:00:00:00:00 new-dst-ports="" \
    ports=ether5
in your situation this might be different as well, so, again, torch is your friend.

After doing this I see no iptv-related or packets on the CPU, and the STB works flawlessly for almost 2 years so far.
These switch rules, along with ability to create virtual "switches" by setting master ports is really a gem that makes routerboards shine IMO.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], carlosfinezi, EricInIdahoFalls, GmbH, mgi2003, MSN [Bot], vader7071 and 118 guests