Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Lukasz
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:41 pm
Location: Silesia, Poland

Do I make some wrong, or what ? (nervous)

Fri May 26, 2006 4:51 pm

##ck...
Sorry, but I'm very angry, I set a speed for my host like this :

Winbox ,
Queues,
simple queues :

Name : test
target address: (my host) 192.168.0.4

Max limit : (upload) 128k Max limit (down) : 256k



advanced

interface : LAN


up and down like in simple queues

every things is in defauld...

and when i download something
, then in traffic show me even 600 k ?
why ?!?!

Realy i'm desperaded...
people help me :|

P.s. i readed all ready manuals about this and nothing
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24712
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon May 29, 2006 9:40 am

did you actually enter 128k ? you must enter this number in bits. eg. '128000'. post us exactly what you have in your queue. `queue simple print`
 
advantz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:11 am

Mon May 29, 2006 9:59 am

where is 'interface' option in 'advanced' tab??
I can't find it lol

I usually use interface=all
 
ilirr
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 1:36 am

Mon May 29, 2006 8:26 pm

Try using webbox it's easy to limit a client

Queue name
out limit
in limit
target ip address
interface[/list]
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Tue May 30, 2006 1:59 am

Must say something!
Why the hell did you write that you're nervous?!
Just be relaxed and RTFM!!!
Everybody should do that! Maybe 90% of forum members or even more.

I'm using Mikrotik Router OS for more than 3 years and all I can say it's the best thing it could happend to all providers!!! Low cost great solution!!!

Maybe there is a little problem. It's winbox! It's too simple to configure, so there is no need to know much about networking. And now we go deeply to problem, as it is simple it atracts folks that doesn't want to read the manual!

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
User avatar
jager
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Tue May 30, 2006 2:25 am

Djape, you`re right! :)
But, there are exceptions, always :)
Sometimes it is useful to ask somebody for help and opinion if you are not in a position to test everything you wanna do with the box.
Look at my problem: I don`t have enough spare RBs to play with, damn money problems, as usual in Serbia :) I`m not willing to test some setting on live installation with customers online if there is a possibility that something could go wrong. I`m sick of "cutting off myself" from a remote host and running there with a laptop and console cable in the middle of the night :)
At the other hand, asking for help how to set up ip address or simple queue sounds ... if not more, than strange :) Sometimes ppl really should RTFM ... :)
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Tue May 30, 2006 2:30 am

For what it's worth, I really didn't understand what all you can do with queues and how they really work (and how to take advantage of the functionality) unitl I sat down one day with the manual, a test router, and a number of posts made on this forum. It really is something you need to play around with to get the feel of what all you can do with them. One note, don't use just the MT bandwidth tester for your bandwidth tests! Try using FTP and HTTP to generate traffic...I've noticed that bandwidth queues do not work right with the MT Bandwith tester when running bi-directional tests (anyone else seen this?).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 108 guests