Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hugleo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:20 am

Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:17 pm

After upgrade to one of the last 4 versions we frequently noticed the router set the admin password with blank and set the files directory to read only and more I can't save a new configuration. Only after reboot the router goes back to normal status.
Is very dangerous, somebody can access remotely my router if password is blank. Please, I need request assistance to that problem.

I can't save suport.rif because files directory is only read. I already noticed this problem in another router too.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2950
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:28 pm

I suppose this are one tilera device...

Wait for fix on 6.16
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
hugleo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:20 am

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:45 pm

Yes, is CCR1036-12G-4S
I suppose this are one tilera device...

Wait for fix on 6.16
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2950
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:55 pm

Yes, is CCR1036-12G-4S
I suppose this are one tilera device...

Wait for fix on 6.16
I suppose right because is well known bug...
The fix are on upcoming 6.16
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
fronczek
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:14 am
Location: Katowice, Poland
Contact:

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:32 pm

Yes, is CCR1036-12G-4S
I suppose this are one tilera device...

Wait for fix on 6.16
I suppose right because is well known bug...
The fix are on upcoming 6.16

Hello,
I've found this topic after I posted here: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=87261

CCR1036 on 6.17 is still affected!!!

Come on guys!!! What's happening with you??

ps. My pair user/password has been overwritten by admin/(null) AFTER TWO DAYS :O
 
visalink
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:42 am

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:12 pm

Every update a new surprise, sometimes it takes a while to appear.
 
fronczek
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:14 am
Location: Katowice, Poland
Contact:

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:18 pm

Every update a new surprise, sometimes it takes a while to appear.
It's really sad... I'm afraid it's time to think about moving to Cisco or other Juniper :?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:31 pm

reinstall 6.17 using netinstall, that should solve the issue.
 
parinya1957
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 am
Location: Thailand

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:10 pm

This also happen to me too. I used CCR1009 which had ROS 6.15 installed and I updated it from Winbox to ROS 6.17. I had this problem too when using Userman. It happen after 1 day of power on after restart I can use it for 1 more day and it happened again.

Then I decide to remove Userman and create user in Winbox instead and this problem was gone until now.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:15 pm

Anyone with such issue, can you check how many bad blocks you have?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
hugleo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:20 am

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:26 pm

That problem was solved for me after a normal upgrade (no netinstall)

0.2 % badblocks
uptime: 6d 05:19:19
 
hugleo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:20 am

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:20 pm

The problem strike back again. :(

password reseted to admin / null. Solving just if I restart.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:23 pm

The problem strike back again. :(

password reseted to admin / null. Solving just if I restart.
Please make supout.rif file ans email to support
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
parinya1957
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 am
Location: Thailand

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:35 am

The problem strike back again. :(

password reseted to admin / null. Solving just if I restart.
hugleo,

Do you used package Userman on your device? For me when I remove package Userman the problem on losing password was gone.

Normis,

How to check bad block on CCR1009, I go to system->Resource but it doesn't show bad block.
 
hugleo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:20 am

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:47 pm

no i'm not using Userman package.
any news about it?
Is not possible to do a supout.rif file because how that problem happens I got a read-only filesystem.
 
alexjhart
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:04 pm

Watching this thread closely as I have the same issue. Holding off upgrading anything that doesn't have the problem and don't know what to do with affected units. Also have read-only problem, so no supout. Also concerned remote reboot will render other settings missing and have a bigger problem.
-----
Alex Hart

The Brothers WISP
 
Shiro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:48 pm

Can one of you guys enable logging of "store" in system/logging?

Every 5 Minutes, i see activation messages for web-proxy and the sd slot of my CCR1009. I already removed Usermanager because its useless on CCR, after some time, the database went from active to backup and Usermanager is no longer usable.

I'am not sure if this is an nand issue or something with the storage controller on ccr?
 
alexjhart
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:13 pm

@Shiro I added store logging, nothing yet.

@normis I can't make a supout, because it appears read-only. sup-output hits 100%, but doesn't show a file created. Also, if I try to create a backup it says "Couldn't make backup - action failed (6)". Bad blocks information isn't present for Cloud Cores under the resources menu (nor is other sector information like is available on other models).

Also new, this is affecting a router running 6.11 as well, not just newer versions as earlier expected.

I agree this is a huge issue.

@janisk netinstall will require changing out the unit as we don't have that as an option at those sites. Are you sure this will fix the issue? Is this a hardware or software problem or unknown?
-----
Alex Hart

The Brothers WISP
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:49 am

@Shiro I added store logging, nothing yet.

@normis I can't make a supout, because it appears read-only. sup-output hits 100%, but doesn't show a file created. Also, if I try to create a backup it says "Couldn't make backup - action failed (6)". Bad blocks information isn't present for Cloud Cores under the resources menu (nor is other sector information like is available on other models).

Also new, this is affecting a router running 6.11 as well, not just newer versions as earlier expected.

I agree this is a huge issue.

@janisk netinstall will require changing out the unit as we don't have that as an option at those sites. Are you sure this will fix the issue? Is this a hardware or software problem or unknown?
please send email to support@mikrotik.com with the public IP of your router and we will connect to see how to solve it
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
nick3dos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:03 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:56 am

The same to me...
CCR1009-8G-1S
6.17v -3.18
I had to do a script-scheduler to make again my user accounts !!!
 
parinya1957
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 am
Location: Thailand

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:52 am

For me I update my CCR1009-8G-1S to v6.17 on September 31, 2014 and not face with this problem till now but still monitor it frequently.

My config is simple for 2 WAN (load balance) out to LAN with hotspot for user use internet in apartment (limit bandwidth with user profile in hotspot).
 
Shiro
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Router losting password and require restart

Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:15 pm

@Shiro I added store logging, nothing yet.
Thanks for your feedback!

So this is not a normal behaviour. I send a supout to mt.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: millenium7, waszpaw and 91 guests