Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
americanmcneil
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC, USA
Contact:

Roam across VLANs?

Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:54 pm

I keep this short gang. My partner and I have a small commercial wireless deployment. we are running v6.7 RouterOS as the core router. We set up several VLANs to maintain domain segmentation and whatnot. Now though there are complaints of having to log in too many times. So the question is: Once a user has authenticated, how do we let said user roam across APs in different VLANs. This is something Aruba does so I figured MikroTik probably does too.

Any help is appreciated
Network+ | ACSP | ACMP | ACMA | Bomgar Certified
"Hakuna Matata" The wisest words ever muttered by a Warthog and his Meerkat pal...
 
jkarras
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 3:07 am
Location: Utah, USA

Re: Roam across VLANs?

Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:47 am

What type of authentication are you talking about wifi auth like 802.1x WPA2-enterprise or hotspot?

For wifi auth as long as your settings match across APs SSID, auth type, password if PSK you should be fine and roaming happens normally with no additional authentication.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], ivanfm, MSN [Bot], sistelec and 60 guests