Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
vdelarenal75
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:28 am

Winbox Font Size

Sun Jul 20, 2014 6:06 am

Hi, is there a way to increase the Font size in winbox? I recently bought a new laptop and it uses a higher resolution the text looks really small and if I increase the text size in Windows to 150% the text looks fuzzy.
 
jeroenp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:30 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 11:38 am

bump...

This is much needed especially on Hi-DPI displays used at native resolution.

--jeroen
Last edited by jeroenp on Thu May 12, 2016 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24713
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 12:43 pm

It works fine on HiDP displays if you use correct resolution (what the laptop manufacture suggests) and scaling settings in Windows (should be 100% where all looks best. but if it looks small, increasing this should not make it fuzzy).

Maybe you use an external display? Windows gets confused when the other display is not HiDP
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 12:48 pm

i did reduce the resolution on the work laptop, to eliminate windows scaling fuzziness problems. (and that is not only winbox, that is an issue for many programs.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
jeroenp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:30 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 1:55 pm

It doesn't work fine when you use the Hi DPI displays to just have a lot of pixels. Which means no scaling and is a perfectly "correct resolution" (maybe not what "the laptop manufacture suggests", but a lot of companies suggest things that in practice work better when you do differently).

WinBox for for instance also fails on my 15 inch 1920x1200 and 1600x1200 screens. Yes, those screens have been available for a long time (for instance ThinkPad A20p around 2000, T61p around 2005, etc) and are still in use.

It is even too small on a 30" Iiyama PL3070WQ at 2560x1600 and fails miserably at my Retina MacBook at 2880x1620.

I like programs with small borders and larger fonts: makes much better use of screen real estate.

WinBox cannot do that but should.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24713
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 2:04 pm

I don't agree. Macbook retina shows everything perfectly. Nothing should be small, the OS should do scaling by taking screen size into consideration, which seems is not the case in some Windows versions.

Screenshot from MacBook with Retina:
Screenshot 2016-05-12 14.02.45.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jeroenp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:30 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 3:03 pm

A screenshot on MacBook with Retina at 2880x1800 (see below) doesn't tell you much.

A photograph does:

Image

The screenshot lures you into thinking it is readable until you realise this is at 220dpi: http://dpi.lv/#2880×1800@15.4

Image
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24713
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 3:13 pm

Looks great to me. Font size consistent with System Preferences and other UI.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jeroenp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:30 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 12, 2016 4:59 pm

Looks great to me. Font size consistent with System Preferences and other UI.
That's why it's not great. Most applications I use can be configured individually on font size to use. And that's also what vdelarenal75 asked for:
Hi, is there a way to increase the Font size in winbox?
I understand that you guys are reluctant to add such a setting, but don't tell us "it's fine" when it clearly isn't for some of us.

--jeroen

PS: found a WineBottler workaround on OS X. It's not pretty, but gets me going. I've queued a blog post on it somewhere next summer.

Image
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24713
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox Font Size

Fri May 13, 2016 8:49 am

OK, correction, it's not "fine", but it is the same as the rest of your system.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jeroenp
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:30 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Winbox Font Size

Fri May 13, 2016 6:06 pm

OK, correction, it's not "fine", but it is the same as the rest of your system.
That isn't true either. Compare Atom IO text editor on the left and WinBox on the right.

I could make this picture on Windows as well (there is an Atom IO for Windows).
Put it in an extreme way: even Notepad on Windows can set the font size.

As a fellow software developer, I know font scaling and DPI support can be hard, but don't hide behind "it's the same as the rest of your system".
If you don't (yet) want to introduce font scaling in WinBox just tell us so.

--jeroen

Image
 
User avatar
teslasystems
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:12 pm

Hello!
It's really need to improve WinBox compatibility with Windows scaling feature. For example, I'm using a 4K display with 4096x2160 resolution and 31.5" screen size and interface looks ugly when Windows scaling is not equal to 100%. But it's impossible to use Windows without scaling on such displays because everything is very small.
If I launch WinBox with standard settings, text is readable, but looks blurry. If I launch it with "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" option, text looks better, but not everywhere. For example, the text in tables is clipped. I have attached screenshots to show you how it looks.
Standard%20settings.png
With%20high%20DPI%20option.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
w01dnick
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:29 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:02 pm

I don't agree. Macbook retina shows everything perfectly. Nothing should be small, the OS should do scaling by taking screen size into consideration, which seems is not the case in some Windows versions.
You are not quite corect while blaming Windows here and in other topics (like this one: viewtopic.php?t=85365).
Windows so called 100% DPI means 96 DPI, thats "standard" (in reality default, not standard) DPI done a lot of bad impact, because a lot of programmers used to it as to the only one DPI. 150% DPI in Windows doesn't mean it's something bad and non-standard, just monitor has not default 96 DPI but 144 DPI (or close to that, mine is 142 DPI).

Windows from old times can say current DPI to application. That's not something new. Application just have to ask it. OS X retina mode introducing some logical pixels not physical one for that bad written applications, that's one of they ways, bad way of this approach is that pixel is not really a pixel anymore. And current Windows 8/10 scaling is just a workaround for application that doesn't behave well with DPI. But it makes application blurry and just readable not well-readable anyway.

So it's not a Windows problem it is an application problem, it's not DPI aware (in Windows terms: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx).
If you are using WinAPI you could rely on good-old GetDeviceCaps(hDC, LOGPIXELSX) and GetDeviceCaps(hDC, LOGPIXELSY): https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx. And yes, despite modern displays has square pixel that's not always true, they could be rectangular, but that's not too actual nowadays.
 
ffrauter
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:43 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:53 am

Are there any news on this case?
I think we are not the only winbox-users, that are using 4k Displays.

Best Regards
Florian
 
haver
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:02 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:41 pm

here is my problem with 4K monitor. How to fix ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
okoun
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:11 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:08 pm

Hello, I have exactly the same problem 4K monitor has a lot of people today and it is only 2019. Please correct it for your applications, thanks
 
Joseph
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Tue May 28, 2019 10:49 pm

Hello,
Someone found a solution for crappy fonts?
I'ts a native Windows application, and it doesn't look correctly...

Linux and wine... it's terrible.

Shame on you MikroTik
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
krafg
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu May 30, 2019 8:09 am

So hard is using a magnify tool to this? (Software obviously, not a real one).

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
marathoneer
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:32 pm

Mikrotik DEVS!!! Fix scaling for 4K users! We hate you!
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Winbox Font Size

Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:39 pm

Mikrotik DEVS!!! Fix scaling for 4K users! We hate you!
You check the new WinBox 3.21 ?
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
dmayan
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 9:28 pm

Re: Winbox Font Size

Tue May 05, 2020 3:10 am

How you dare to discuss something with Mikrotik devs???? Everything they do is perfect!! /s

Stop this shitshow please, Mikrotik is going down the sink hole
 
User avatar
secret
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Winbox Font Size

Sun May 10, 2020 1:39 am

I found a solution for this. Execute wine regedit.exe
Browse to HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG \ Software \ Fonts
Double click LogPixels
Change to Decimal
Increase from 96 to 128, 144 (or larger)
In another terminal, execute wine winbox.exe
The fonts should be bigger
If the menu fonts are small, execute gedit ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/win.ini
Search the [Desktop] section (or add, if it doesn't exist) an add or modify the line with the desired font size in pixels
MenuFontSize = 18

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], seriosha, triangulum33 and 118 guests