Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Load Balancing Technique

Tue May 30, 2006 8:38 am

Hi!

since i've read EVERY post about ECMP in reguards to load balancing, i was thinking of another method and would like some input / ideas. since ECMP is far from perfect thus far.

I have a biz SDSL line and a biz cable (pppoe for dsl, dhcp static for the cable). I have fail over setup per the manual and it works great!

now what if i set all traffic on say,< port 1000 (or whatever) goes over gateway 1 (dsl) and all traffic over port 1000 goes to gw2 (cable).

the idea is to keep all the high port p2p stuff on one line and the web / https / mail / ftp stuf on another line?

Am i missing something that will hinder this since i cant seem to get it to function via NAT

thanks!

joe
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue May 30, 2006 12:28 pm

you have to sort out by destination ports and set routing mark for each packet, then add gateways with each routing mark as needed.

you can also mark p2p trafiic and that what route it through other gw
 
ManyX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: PolanD

Tue May 30, 2006 6:58 pm

hey

I have 3 dsl and a don't know how to bonded it
I have about 250 hosts in my network and some time is the situation when one dsl is full used when anather is completely not used.
Whta you advice me.



Maby some examples.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Tue May 30, 2006 7:06 pm

bonded is not what you want unless your ISP supports it or is willing to work with you since to truly bond, you need control of equpment on both sides.
 
ManyX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: PolanD

Tue May 30, 2006 7:25 pm

I forget describt my configuration.
250 host connection to wifi over pppoe (10 mPCI carts on 4 Mikrotik routerboard series 500)
3 dsl modems with ethernet cable and 8 address networks for each modems. (15 public address do used)

smoe adviced ??
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Tue May 30, 2006 7:47 pm

yes, since to bond the DSL lines you would need to be on your end (dsl modem) and the phone co's in, @ the dslam.

you want the 3 dsl lines to = one right?
 
ManyX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: PolanD

Tue May 30, 2006 8:10 pm

I want to balance traffic over 3 dsl modems. I thinh abount mark p2p trafic and sent it to first DSL and HTTP send to proxy server on the other dsl.


I search the best solution
 
ManyX
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:48 pm
Location: PolanD

Tue May 30, 2006 8:16 pm

maybe used to this ECMP. In manual is examples, but I read on forum about this and there is no good opinion.

Maybe You have saome experience
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Tue May 30, 2006 8:28 pm

fro what I understand there is no reliable way to run load balencing via ecmp. I've read over 50 threads here about it and they all point to it working but there are tons of problems like aim cutting out and secure sites failing due to non session persistentance.
 
pekr
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:00 pm

Hi,

I would expect load balancing using "simple" technique as one packet goes this way, other one that way, as simply being a stopper for services like ICQ etc., where some connection persistency is required. However, I was surprised, that MT docs state, that ECMP creates pairs of source/destination IPs, so it should automatically use one gw for the whole communication.

If that is actually true, I don't know. If you are having problems with such apps disconnecting, then ECMP does not work that way probably.

As for me - our network has two gws too, and I want to go following way - some networks go via gw1, other ones via gw2, packets marked in Mangle, routing-mark used.

0.0.0.0/0 routing-mark=gw1 x.x.x.x check-gateway=ping
0.0.0.0/0 routing-mark=gw2 y.y.y.y check-gateway=ping
0.0.0.0/0 x.x.x.x check-gateway=ping
0.0.0.0/0 y.y.y.y

Well, it may be actually wrong, but first I'll try get traffic separated upon routing marks. The, on the third line, there is still default gw for main routing table, in the case where some other traffic would be forgotten, and if it fails, everything goes via y.y.y.y (fourth line). And if both gws are out, well, then there is someone to shoot :-)

Cheers,
Petr
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:10 pm

petr,

yes, from what i've tested ecmp does not "maintain persistance" (haha) as would be needed for some types of ssl or msn ect...

I did read a post a while back where some one was "load balencing" by simply setting a range of ips to use one GW and the other range/half use a different GW. fail over being all devices are routed to one or the other. maybe this could work for you? as stated above i still want to test traffic "load balenced" via port exclusion...0-2000 ports = GW1 2001-65000 = gw2 i need to test it but i see no reason it would not work..except for lthngs like a 80-> 8080 re direct

joe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], sid5632 and 75 guests