Community discussions

 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:19 pm

So - I have read through some posts and not read any concrete information so I thought I would ask. My ultimate goal is to create a script that sends an email if the UPS goes on batter backup if the site looses power. But first...

I have the USB package loaded and the UPS connected - but I cannot see the USB option for connection. Also - am I correct that virtually any APC or Cyber Power is supported for basic feedback?

Only serial is present...
Image

Thanks in advance.
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:33 pm

Further - when I try to do a = system resources usb> print" the router locks up and reboots....

I do not see an entry into the log either.

ideas?
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:40 pm

any help?
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:31 pm

Does anyone have any input?
 
kmok1
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:49 pm
Location: Windsor ON Canada
Contact:

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:17 am

RackKing,
I use a USB port replicator. This is the only way I can get the RB2011 to talk to my APC-UPS (after a few reboots).

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/UPS
From the wiki, it looks like MK only supports APC Smart UPS.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:01 am

Sorry, RouterOS only supports APC serial UPS
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
RackKing
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:44 pm

RackKing,
I use a USB port replicator. This is the only way I can get the RB2011 to talk to my APC-UPS (after a few reboots).

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/UPS
From the wiki, it looks like MK only supports APC Smart UPS.
Thanks for this - I will try one.

So - you have gotten communication to work? I have read others have as well. Is the port replicator passive or powered? Do you have link to the one you use?
 
kmok1
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:49 pm
Location: Windsor ON Canada
Contact:

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Fri Aug 29, 2014 5:24 am


Thanks for this - I will try one.

So - you have gotten communication to work? I have read others have as well. Is the port replicator passive or powered? Do you have link to the one you use?
I reuse my passive port replicator from my old Rock Band game. :) It really does not matter which you use, but passive ones save power.
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:46 am

I use on all my places APC ups and Mikrotik UPS package to monitoring.
Usually it is APC CS 650 connected to USB port on 750UP, 411U or 433GL on some places use APC Smart UPS 750 but connected to USB to serial converter because not have serial port on that location and directly connected ups on USB port not give all information of status compared to serial port.

But using serial to USB converter and ups package in Mikrotik have one bug if you reset routerboard or lost power ups by itself remove need to add again always happens when is used usb to serial converter.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 136 guests