Page 1 of 1

RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:19 pm
by RackKing
So - I have read through some posts and not read any concrete information so I thought I would ask. My ultimate goal is to create a script that sends an email if the UPS goes on batter backup if the site looses power. But first...

I have the USB package loaded and the UPS connected - but I cannot see the USB option for connection. Also - am I correct that virtually any APC or Cyber Power is supported for basic feedback?

Only serial is present...
Image

Thanks in advance.

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:33 pm
by RackKing
Further - when I try to do a = system resources usb> print" the router locks up and reboots....

I do not see an entry into the log either.

ideas?

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:40 pm
by RackKing
any help?

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:31 pm
by RackKing
Does anyone have any input?

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:17 am
by kmok1
RackKing,
I use a USB port replicator. This is the only way I can get the RB2011 to talk to my APC-UPS (after a few reboots).

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/UPS
From the wiki, it looks like MK only supports APC Smart UPS.

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:01 am
by IntrusDave
Sorry, RouterOS only supports APC serial UPS

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:44 pm
by RackKing
RackKing,
I use a USB port replicator. This is the only way I can get the RB2011 to talk to my APC-UPS (after a few reboots).

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:System/UPS
From the wiki, it looks like MK only supports APC Smart UPS.
Thanks for this - I will try one.

So - you have gotten communication to work? I have read others have as well. Is the port replicator passive or powered? Do you have link to the one you use?

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 5:24 am
by kmok1

Thanks for this - I will try one.

So - you have gotten communication to work? I have read others have as well. Is the port replicator passive or powered? Do you have link to the one you use?
I reuse my passive port replicator from my old Rock Band game. :) It really does not matter which you use, but passive ones save power.

Re: RB2011 + CyberpowerUPS via USB

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:46 am
by npero
I use on all my places APC ups and Mikrotik UPS package to monitoring.
Usually it is APC CS 650 connected to USB port on 750UP, 411U or 433GL on some places use APC Smart UPS 750 but connected to USB to serial converter because not have serial port on that location and directly connected ups on USB port not give all information of status compared to serial port.

But using serial to USB converter and ups package in Mikrotik have one bug if you reset routerboard or lost power ups by itself remove need to add again always happens when is used usb to serial converter.