Community discussions

 
nemo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:28 pm

BTest server for Linux

Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:10 pm

Hi all,

is anybody aware of a Bandwidth Test server version for Linux?

thanx in advance
 
RoadKill
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:00 am

Re: BTest server for Linux

Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:15 am

is there any plans for supporting ipers, as BTest won't come for linux
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5940
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: BTest server for Linux

Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:56 am

You can use wine to run btest tool.
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:29 am

Running btest server in wine is simply not an option. I would never trust the result of a gigabit link tested on an emulated/reverse-engineered protocol stack. I hope you will either support the iperf standard or release a linux text-based version of btest.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
amorsen
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:17 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:22 am

I just want to second the request for a Linux BTest server. The lack of it is causing grief among our support staff.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:13 pm

trust what you want, but correctness of it you can simply check by monitoring traffic passed through interfaces on the router in between btest.

or you do not trust that either?
 
amorsen
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:17 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:46 pm

For me it's not a matter of not trusting the results. Wine isn't going on the servers in our data center. You can call that religious, but it isn't going to change. Not that a non-free-software bandwidth test application is going on them either.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:52 pm

ok, no one will make me install wine on a server too.

as a "workaround" you could put RouterOS box in there (at least temporarily), and use it to test your links
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Tue Nov 04, 2008 3:55 pm

or use any kind of linux bandwidth testing tool you want. just run the test to another linux machine behind the router
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Thu Nov 06, 2008 3:08 pm

Doesn't that ruin the whole idea behind the btest system? Being able to test to the router while temporarily shutting of the local lan is an invaluable tool.

I really hope you will consider making the test server available for linux, or at least publish the protocol information so we can create our own implementation.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Thu Nov 06, 2008 3:16 pm

Doesn't that ruin the whole idea behind the btest system? Being able to test to the router while temporarily shutting of the local lan is an invaluable tool.
?

BTest is just a random data transmitter
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Thu Nov 06, 2008 3:39 pm

Yes, but isn't it also a throughbut test? Testing the bandwidth of the line?
If so, it is a tremendous help to be able to test it directly at the router and not behind the router. Service providers prefer not to include anything the customer might have provided on his own, tampered with etc.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Thu Nov 06, 2008 3:44 pm

you are highly encouraged to run the test THROUGH the router, not from it, because the random data generation takes a lot of resources, and compromises the test results. threfore, it's almost the same as any kind of traffic. just run multiple FTP sessions, or something like that. The only difference is that BTest can also test UDP
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:33 am

Hmm, dire news indeed.

That means I will do a feature request instead:
A reliable bandwidth measurement tool
It could either be based on iperf, or a protocol of your liking, as long as it provides a linux remote server.
If random data makes the result unpredictable, then you should stop using random data. The payload in reality has no effect on the throughput, and you could just fill the payload with all zeros or all ones. That should be pretty easy to implement, if you ask me.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:35 am

In real life, the router doesn't generate any data, so you shouldn't run tests that do. Any kind of data generation will use resources.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:16 pm

yes, but your routers are quite powerful, especially the larger ones. It can't impact that much...?
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:51 pm

you can try to run btest tool on your computer and see, how much resources this tool uses, somehow similar tool is implemented in routeros, so you can test if you have no other chance, of course, if you are running RB600 in each end of line, but you are running 100MBps wire between them, of course, you will saturate that line before cpu maxes out.

anyway if you run btest through the router, not to router itself - you will get completely different results.
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:14 am

It seems to me that you are trying to convince me that a bug is a feature? :)
In all fairness, I find the bandwidth-test tool magnificent. Imagine my scenario:
We are a service provider, selling primarily MPLS solutions with managed CPE's. We've got around 80-90 routerboard units in production already, mostly RB450, some RB600 and we will in the future use a lot of RB1000 for gigabit links. Most of our links are around 25-50 Mbit/s on fibre or 8-20 Mbit/s on copper. Whenever we receive a customer complaint about throughput we are basically forced to send out an engineer to the customer and at the customer's inconvenience disconnect his equipment and test using iperf and similar from an ethernet interface on the router. It would be absolutely wonderful for us to test remotely, not mentioning the fact that our time cost money. So in a perfect world, we would just shut down the customer lan port, initiate a bandwidth test directly from the router and report the result to the customer. Now that would be wonderful, wouldn't it?

Right now, we are experimenting with installing an RB1000 in our data center and using it as a central bandwidth test server. It might work, but if you say your results are unreliable, I beg you to fix it to make it reliable. Make the payload of the data non-random, so that the router only needs to concentrate on moving the packets - there are plenty of ways to generate enough data for the payload: You could send all-ones, a fixed repeating string or even a random string generated before run and repeated at the desired segment size, and I'm sure you can come up with more ideas yourself!

I hope you will look positively on this request of mine - as I said we purchase a lot of your devices and we are a happy customer in any other regards :)
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:34 am

well, if you want to see the throughput of link - you can do that by sending bandwidth through the link, and this is reliable, the values showed are correct, but if you test throughput of router it self you should do that in the way normis told in previous posts.

so in your case - you can run BW-test on the links, and see available traffic on the link and that is acceptable.

so if you test throughput of router, then you have to have A and D as bandwidth generators and routers in the middle will be tested A----B-----C----D in this case you test router B and router C

in case you test link - you can send upd packages in one direction if router is not that powerful, and in both if you have enough "juice in router" and see the result that is reliable and correct
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:26 pm

well, if you want to see the throughput of link - you can do that by sending bandwidth through the link, and this is reliable, the values showed are correct, but if you test throughput of router it self you should do that in the way normis told in previous posts.
Yes, very good. You have provided some nice benchmarks of your routers, so I am not very interested in testing the routers. Link speed and performance is what I want to test. Since we only use RB450 and RB1000 I suppose both these models are suitable for a full-duplex test?
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: BTest server for Linux

Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:53 am

yes, RB450 will be able easily saturate 100MBps link, just note, do not connect through link you are testing, or you might get disconnection, because of time-outs, as link will be fully saturated and any other data transmission will not be available. also run UDP packets, something like
/tool bandwidth-test <ip> direction=both
 
rucevzhuru
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:57 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:03 pm

I agree with Eising. We are in very similar situatuation. We have 100 mikrotik routers and they are connected together via wireless links. I would like to check the throughput between the main gateway and routers. I would like to make a script to check it automatically in the night. The night throughput is not actually so interesting but we can check measured throughput for a significant change according to previous measurements. Then we can find that some link went worse than before. I can do that with remote ssh to some mikrotik router and then initialization of the bandwith test from the router but it's more complicated.

We would very appreciate this functionality.


Can you share bandwith-test client code or at least share binary of that file? Thanks
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: BTest server for Linux

Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:34 am

I had a discussion with a few people about this at the MUM, and basically what people told me was that the bandwidth-tester is working great as a receiver of the test, but the actual package generation is too cpu intensive. I have a few suggestions on what you could do:

1 (and most prefered): Release a bandwidth-test client that is either cross platform or has a linux and windows version. That way I could load it on my different management servers, and test against the CPE's. Despite the low cost of Mikrotik routers, it's simply not practical for me to set up a dedicated RB for each VPN customer (my customers are Layer3 VPNs, and are protected from each other).

2: Change the testing algorithm on the clients.
At the moment, the actual bandwidth test does a lot of smart tests with different packet sizes and all that. If you made it possible to do very specific test, for instance by selecting what packet size to run (together with MTU, buffer sizes etc.), you could basically just cat all ones (or fill a repeating string, like ping does) into the payload of the packets and thus save a lot of CPU.

I know there is a bandwidth test program for windows, but I simply refuse to install wine on my servers, and run a performance test on an emulated/reverse engineered OS stack...

I hope you will consider my suggestions, and I regret I didn't catch one of you MikroTik guys at the MUM and discussed it with you there, when I had the chance... I blame the beers :)
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
mrpsycho
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Mon May 07, 2018 11:11 pm

that amazing.

almost ten years past, and no progress at all?
that sucks.
 
yoq
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 3:46 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Sat May 19, 2018 1:47 am

Reverse engineered btest, written in Perl and C:
https://github.com/samm-git/btest-opensource
 
User avatar
vecernik87
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:19 am

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri May 25, 2018 10:48 am

This man deserves the cookie!
Now I have to learn how to compile stuff on linux... :(
 
sid5632
Member
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri May 25, 2018 8:28 pm

This worked for me:
git clone https://github.com/samm-git/btest-opensource
cd btest-opensource
gcc -o btest *.c -lpthread
 
smugger21
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:02 am

Re: BTest server for Linux

Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:07 am

that amazing.

almost ten years past, and no progress at all?
that sucks.

LMAO! HA HA HA, I signed up just to say the same exact thing, I did find that open-source btest someone made, but I don't really like that someone else had to do it for them!
Come on MikroTik, really, the backbone of most of the internet is built on linux systems, why have you not made this yet? Completely being lazy here!
 
neutronlaser
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: BTest server for Linux

Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:39 pm

Mikrotik's business plan seems to be to shoot themselves in the foot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests