Community discussions

 
sebus504
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Routing between client pptp

Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:56 pm

Hello, I have Mikrotik RB2011 with 1 port WAN (eth1 77.X.X.X) and LAN on bridge (eth 2-5 192.168.5.250). On the router running pptp server and clients connect remotely to the network (and it works well)I have a problem with ping between remote clients (client to client). How it should look like.
Mikrotik ver 6.19

[admin@MikroTik] /ip route> pri
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 77.X.X.X 1
1 ADC 77.X.X.X/29 77.X.X.X WAN 0
2 ADC 192.168.5.0/24 192.168.5.250 bridge-local 0
3 ADC 192.168.5.161/32 192.168.5.250 <pptp-ppp2> 0
4 ADC 192.168.5.165/32 192.168.5.250 <pptp-ppp1> 0
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Routing between client pptp

Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:13 am

Do you have a question?
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
sebus504
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Routing between client pptp

Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:27 am

Yes, why can't I send a ping from the client 1 to client 2
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Routing between client pptp

Wed Sep 17, 2014 8:47 am

Set bridge-local to proxy-arp, then it should work.
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
sebus504
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Routing between client pptp

Wed Sep 17, 2014 9:10 am

I set before and didn't work
 
sebus504
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Routing between client pptp

Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:09 pm

New facts!
When client 1 is mikrotik I can ping it client 2 (windows), but not vice versa.
From client 2(windows) i can ping only serwer 192.168.5.250.
From client 1(mikrotik) I can ping serwer and client 2 (windows)
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: Routing between client pptp

Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:06 pm

By default windows blocks ping packets maybe you should check your win fw to enable icmp
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
AlexeyBerdnikov
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:57 am

Re: Routing between client pptp

Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:17 pm

Hi! Do you have any solution?

I have exactly the same problem. Server is runnning on CentOS (10.0.0.1). There are several clients (10.0.0.10-10.0.0.254) connected to it (WIN7, MacOS, Linux hosts, ASUS routers etc.) Each client binded to unique IP.
I can make ping from client to client from any host to any. All of them send ICMP ping echo response to each other, except Mikrotik cause I can ping Mikrotik only from the server. The same issue with WinBox and HTTP access. I can gain access to MikroTik only from PPTP server

  • ping from MikroTik (client) ---> Mac OS (client) is OK;
    ping from MikroTik (client) ---> WIN7 (client) is OK;
    ping from MikroTik (client) ---> Linux (several clients) is OK;

    ping from WIN7 (client) ---> Mac OS (client) is OK;
    ping from MAC OS (client) ---> WIN7 (client) is OK;
    ping from MAC OS (client) ---> Linux (several clients) is OK;

    ping from Server -----> MikroTik (client) is OK
    MikroTik (client) OK --> Server is OK

    Ping from any client ---> MikroTik is Fail


If I use any device with login/pass pair instead of MikroTik ping is ok.
I traced the issue at the server side using tcpdump:

No. Time Source Destination Protocol Length Info
400 3.926313 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.15 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0x350e, seq=0/0, ttl=63 (reply in 403)
403 3.929820 10.0.0.15 10.0.0.101 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) reply id=0x350e, seq=0/0, ttl=64 (request in 400)
524 4.931374 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.15 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0x350e, seq=1/256, ttl=63 (reply in 525)
525 4.934794 10.0.0.15 10.0.0.101 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) reply id=0x350e, seq=1/256, ttl=64 (request in 524)
727 5.934409 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.15 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0x350e, seq=2/512, ttl=63 (reply in 728)
728 5.937937 10.0.0.15 10.0.0.101 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) reply id=0x350e, seq=2/512, ttl=64 (request in 727)
930 6.934468 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.15 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0x350e, seq=3/768, ttl=63 (reply in 936)
936 6.937835 10.0.0.15 10.0.0.101 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) reply id=0x350e, seq=3/768, ttl=64 (request in 930)
1125 7.935633 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.15 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0x350e, seq=4/1024, ttl=63 (reply in 1158)
1158 8.063030 10.0.0.15 10.0.0.101 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) reply id=0x350e, seq=4/1024, ttl=64 (request in 1125)


And for MikroTik I have next:

No. Time Source Destination Protocol Length Info
3 0.007684 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3091/4876, ttl=63 (no response found!)
11 1.010959 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3092/5132, ttl=63 (no response found!)
25 2.014842 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3093/5388, ttl=63 (no response found!)
28 3.015787 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3094/5644, ttl=63 (no response found!)
39 4.019958 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3095/5900, ttl=63 (no response found!)
40 5.025024 10.0.0.101 10.0.0.19 ICMP 100 Echo (ping) request id=0xf403, seq=3096/6156, ttl=63 (no response found!)


I tried enable proxy-arp at bridge interface. No result. I see that Mikrotik gets the ICMP requests:

log of ICMP coming from client looks like:
01:50:18 firewall,info input: in:StrongVPN out:(none), proto ICMP (type 8, code 0), 10.0.0.101->10.0.0.19, len 84

log of ICMP coming from server looks like:
01:42:32 firewall,info input: in:StrongVPN out:(none), proto ICMP (type 8, code 0), 10.0.0.1->10.0.0.19, len 84

The difference in that the server gets echo responses while clients can not...
The same with remote access. As I already explained It works now only for server.

Any help appreciated! Thank you all in advance!
Regards,
Alexey
 
sebus504
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: Routing between client pptp

Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:59 am

Hi, A make like this:

chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address-list=lan dst-address-list=lan
log=no log-prefix=""


And address-list name "lan" with all ip
10.0.1.0/24
192.168.3.0/24

It's work for me perfect. I can ping between network and pptp client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boneyard21, MSN [Bot] and 76 guests