Page 1 of 1

MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:40 am
by adyb76
Hi,
I recently reinstalled mrtg onto a new server and set it up to monitor the traffic for our CCR edge router running ros 6.19.
I used the cfgmaker to create the config file, and having reviewed it I am happy that it is monitoring the correct interfaces.
The problem is that there is a magnitude of difference between the stats mrtg produces vs the routerboard graphs available on the web gui.
Mrtg reports a max of 173.1 mbit/s whereas the web gui graph reports 880.89 mbit/s whilst I am not expecting these to be the same, I was expecting them to be much closer.

Any ideas?

Ade

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:55 am
by CyberTod
Maybe you are using 32bit counters. Use 64bit counters.

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:11 am
by aacable
Hi,
I recently reinstalled mrtg onto a new server and set it up to monitor the traffic for our CCR edge router running ros 6.19. I used the cfgmaker to create the config file, and having reviewed it I am happy that it is monitoring the correct interfaces. The problem is that there is a magnitude of difference between the stats mrtg produces vs the routerboard graphs available on the web gui. Mrtg reports a max of 173.1 mbit/s whereas the web gui graph reports 880.89 mbit/s whilst I am not expecting these to be the same, I was expecting them to be much closer.
Any ideas? Ade
If you have a fast router you might want to try to poll the 64bit counter. To adjust your target config in MRTG for 64 bit counter, you need to add :::::2 to the end (note: five colons).

Sample:
Target[10.0.0.1]: 2:community@10.0.0.1:::::2
or you can use interface oid too.

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:20 pm
by jfvelamoscoso
The problem is that your graphs on mrtg are on bytes and on webgui are on bits.

I am facing the same problem now, any advice?

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:17 am
by joegoldman
The problem is that your graphs on mrtg are on bytes and on webgui are on bits.

I am facing the same problem now, any advice?
Unlikely - the figures do not even closely match for this to be a possibility.

I like the idea of 32 bit vs 64 bit counters, If you are only polling every 5 minutes, it is possibly at 800+mbit/s the 32 bit counter is 0'ing out and starting from scratch making it back up to 170mbit before you poll it again, then continues.

At the end of your peak period (if you have one) does it suddenty jump up to match the right value? Or do you keep a pretty constant 600mbit/s + going through the interface?

Re: MRTG Not reporting accurately

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:23 pm
by jfvelamoscoso
I made it work just changing from this:
Options[_]: growright,bits

To this:

Options[_]: bits,growright