Page 2 of 2

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:25 pm
by NetHorror
NCP +1 :)

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:34 pm
by bjornekelund
This is probably a noob question but I am new to Mikrotik routers (even routers in general).

I got my E3372h (Hilink) working with excellent speed by adding a DHCP client and a NAT rule.
(It is however very frustrating that the router DHCP client does not get the public IP address of the
LTE connection. II have found no way around this). I am planning to use the 4G link as failover link
with a script, so not having the right public IP is not great but sufferable.

Now my question: I currently use the factory default firewall rules.
There are two rules that are explicitly mentioning my main WAN interface:

chain=forward action=drop connection-state=new connection-nat-state=!dstnat in-interface=sfp1 log=no
chain=input action=drop in-interface=sfp1 log=no

Shall I add a copy of each but with "in-interface=lte1" or does the NAT inside the modem perform this?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:56 pm
by pe1chl
Of course because the LTE stick has a NAT function it also blocks all incoming connections.
However, it never hurts to add another rule like the one that drops input from ether1, but for lte1.
It would be nice when the NAT in the stick could be circumvented (apparently there is a way, but I have
not found how that should work), but remember there is probably another NAT inside the mobile provider
network so this will still not give you a real public IP and untranslated traffic (required for some protocols).

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:02 pm
by bjornekelund
I am using Telia here in Sweden and they have no NAT so incoming connections work fine if you can just get the public IP.

The irony is that the Dovado routers (http://dovado.se/en/) circumvent the IP mode so using the E3372 with those the
router gets the public IP so you can run a server, send SMS, check link status etc. while connected.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:08 pm
by jupiter95
Dear Mikrotik, we really-really need this functional :)
Please, implement this.
What problem do you have and want to be solved?
Also, make sure you bark up the correct tree, e.g. when you don't want NAT. The NAT is happening in the Huawei,
so you should ask them to fix that.
We need to get ip address from provider to mikrotik and have full lte-speed.

PPP - not full speed
HiLink - not ip address directly to mikrotik
NCP - solving of problem, but not implemented by Mikrotik yet
ANY reply from Mikrotik to our request?

PPP for Huawei E3372 not only full speed but most important is it crashes every time you try to download more data (higher bandwidth)!

Mikrotik please answer!

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:24 am
by matiaszon

PPP - not full speed
HiLink - not ip address directly to mikrotik
NCP - solving of problem, but not implemented by Mikrotik yet
ANY reply from Mikrotik to our request?

PPP for Huawei E3372 not only full speed but most important is it crashes every time you try to download more data (higher bandwidth)!

Mikrotik please answer![/quote]

Exactly. This is the reason why I had to add dovado as a USB-Ethernet bridge. However, it would be much better to have LTE dongle managed by MikroTik.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:32 am
by jupiter95
matiaszon - I regret but no answer from Mikrotik :(((

Again Mikrotik - some your users need to use ppp to avoid multi NAT.

Please present your plans or workaround to fix this issue.

Explain more!

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:55 am
by NelsonBN
Is there any solution for this model e3372?

I have:
Model: Huawei E3372h
Hardware version: CL2E3372HM
Firmware: 21.180.01.00.00
Vendor: 0x12d1
Product: 0x1506

AND
RB 2011UiAS-2HnD

Has anyone managed to get it to work as LTE interface?
I only managed by ppp, but it's very unstable

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:13 pm
by KrisjanisGross
NCP +1

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:02 am
by Olytitor
NCP +1

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:21 pm
by dschn
I have the same problem: when there is some load on the stick it sometimes disconnects and won't reconnect unless the router is rebooted. Is there any fix for this issue?

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:53 pm
by dschn
After months of testing and trying different approaches I can tell: the RB2011 series is not working flawless with at least the Huawei E3372 and E8372 USB LTE sticks. There seems to be an issue with the USB port in that series, as even using other OTG cables and a USB hub with separate power didn't help - the LTE connection freezes/gets lost as soon as there is some workload on it, and it won't reconnect itself.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:41 am
by commander86
Are there any News on Supporting Huawei E3372 with Device ID "0x1506"?

I can't even get it running in PPP Mode, it's an Branded Stick "T-Mobile Speedstick LTE V".

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:11 pm
by RyperX
I dont use LTE anymore because it never worked fine.

I really dont understand why Mikrotik dont Support the Huawei Stick.
It is one of the most common out there.

You can install on any openwrt router the ncm driver and it is working fine and perfect.
Still i switched from LTE to a cable solution, dont wanna bother anymore about the pings and speed.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:25 pm
by pe1chl
I use some of those E3372 sticks with the HiLink software and they work fine.
On some of the older MikroTik models there is not enough power to the USB but on newer devices like RB750Gr3 and hAP AC I have not had this problem.
I read about this NCM or NCP solution but cannot find info on it anywhere.
Is this a 3rd type of firmware for this stick?

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:06 pm
by baks
Mikrotik, hello from 2019 ;)

e3372h + HAPac is still popular cheap solution to bring small offices online, or get fast occasional backup link at least in the east EU.

Is there any plans to support stick e3372h firmware (21.XXX) in full speed modes like NCM, NDIS? HiLink firmware (22.XXX) is limited to use additional NAT layers and has no possibility to get IP from Mobile ISP directly in RoS which limits IKEv2 setup significantly, PPP works but is isn't enough to get full speed LTE which is already running in Russia Ukraine Belarus for years and become more and more cost effective for small deployments.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:09 pm
by pe1chl
Can't you use HiLink mode? It works OK. Of course it has the disadvantage of an extra NAT layer.

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:12 pm
by baks
Can't you use HiLink mode? It works OK. Of course it has the disadvantage of an extra NAT layer.
I have extended my post, with highlights of direct IP assignment limitation in HiLink. Huawei's NAT usually causes different problems with IPSec even with DMZ feature enabled ;(

Re: Problem with Huawei E3372 4G modem

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:28 pm
by pe1chl
I user Huawei E3372 in HiLink mode to make an L2TP/IPsec connection (over IPv4 with NAT, traditional IKE) to our central MikroTik router.
This is used for backup of our primary links (fiber, DSL) at remote locations. I use BGP to do the routing/failover. It works fine.
In our central router I have setup the L2TP server without IPsec and instead manually configured an IPsec policy with "port override"
instead of "port strict" (as it creates by default) to avoid the problem with double-NAT. This was done some time ago and there
have been changes in IPsec after that, I am not certain that this special handling is still required.
I have no detailed knowledge of IKEv2 so I don't know if there is a similar problem and workaround in that protocol.