Page 1 of 1

Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reboot

Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:42 pm
by noyo
Hello!
Ticket#2014091366000293]

My first contact on watchdog-reboot in mikrotik v.6.xx is 13-09-2014.
Since then I replaced the support of more than 16 email.
2 S. Martins mail
1 email with Kristaps S.
10 mail Uldis
And at the end of one email from Janis B. To which I replied. But since 10-10-2014 I did not get an answer.
I sent them the 20-30 supout.rif

Zaaktualizowałem few devices (711, Lite5, 2011iL, etc..) To version 6.xx (6.7, 6.19, now 6.20).
When the work day, or two days can restart themselves. (disable watchdog suspends the device).
Sometimes when you enter the device from the MT v6.xx causes restart.
Sometimes supout.rif generating device with MT v6.xx causes restart.
Sometimes when you export the configuration to the device MT v6.xx causes restart.

Support recommending disable snmp, api - I made it - did not help.
Support recommending the inclusion of rstp - I made it - did not help.

I also have a lot adjoining equipment on the MT v5.26 and running. Any errors. Uptime of 100 days and more.


This is really ridiculous on their part. No information. No solution to the problem. No stable software. Do not refined.

Sell ​​equipment that does not work well.
You test software on their clients. On what world you live?

Maybe I just was already beyond software development? Maybe it's time to give this project the people who know their stuff?

Please solution to my problem, because for such problems losing customers, good reviews.
I am terribly pissed off at your software. Although this is a very nice solution.

These people have a similar problem:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 00#p452253
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 00#p452266
this "router was rebooted without proper shutdown by watchdog timer" problem solved?

I still have this issue from 6.7 to 6.19 mostly on all RB2011/ RB750G / RB911 / SXT Lite5 devices approx 70 pieces of our devices affected by this error.

Mostly all devices reboot between 1am to 3am. Devices that are affacted are not on the same location, (20-40km) all of them are running through uninterruptible power supply, so it could not be a power problem. At the same time, and on the same tower other devices which are not running Mikrotik 6.x version are still running.


translate.google.com

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:26 am
by jcem
Hi!

2 things to check

1. Have you the default CPU Frequency? Increasing the CPU Frequency from default can cause this problem....

2. I've seen some APC UPS connected to USB cause the same problem...

RGDS
Jorgen

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:50 am
by noyo
Hi!

2 things to check

1. Have you the default CPU Frequency? Increasing the CPU Frequency from default can cause this problem....

2. I've seen some APC UPS connected to USB cause the same problem...

RGDS
Jorgen
1. All routerboard are the default CPU Frequency
2. no UPS.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:54 am
by jarda
I have similar experience but only with 32mb devices running 6.x. The are choking probably by insufficient memory and one of them doesn't manage to work with USB flash disk that worked without problems before upgrade. The devices stay for some time 5-80min on 100 %cpu with bad response times and after that they work normally without restart. Sometimes restart helps immediately. Not possible to produce supout file as it doesn't finish. I even let janis b to login and look at it two weeks ago - no info since then.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:33 am
by noyo
for me the problem is no difference to the device of v6
Watch-dog is on by default.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:50 am
by fposavec
I updated to latest RC, and problem fixed.

Using NetMetal units.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:53 am
by Test471
How many total sector writes?

I had same problem with rb951 which was rebooting every few hours and in log there was no reason except that it was rebooted by watchdog. In case I disable watchdog board just hung and then I needed to cut the power off.

Tried everything and nothing helped. The only thing I noticed is that total sector writes variable was incredibly high.

The only thing that helped is taking it to local dealer who gave me another one :)

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:27 am
by noyo
How many total sector writes?

I had same problem with rb951 which was rebooting every few hours and in log there was no reason except that it was rebooted by watchdog. In case I disable watchdog board just hung and then I needed to cut the power off.

Tried everything and nothing helped. The only thing I noticed is that total sector writes variable was incredibly high.

The only thing that helped is taking it to local dealer who gave me another one :)
Day 08-09-2014 upgrade 2x RB711G-5HnD (sextant), 4x Lite5, 2x RB711-5Hn, 1x RB2011LS, 3x RB2011iL, 2x SXT G-5HPnD r2, 2x RB912UAG-5HPnD
On each of the RB (then v6.19 or 6.7) were the watchdog-reboot.
Sectors is tethered to a max of 10 clients.

I currently have 2x RB2011iL, 2x SXT G-5HPnD r2 on v6.20 and is watchdog-reboot


It is interesting that a few customers (nat, pppoe) on Lite5 with v6.19. The antenna does not restart to work properly.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:36 am
by Test471
Don't get me wrong but I think google translate is not good for this kind of communication :)

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:11 pm
by noyo
Don't get me wrong but I think google translate is not good for this kind of communication :)
I know :D
But my English is bad. I support August google.

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:01 pm
by Test471
I support August google.
Whatever :)

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:19 am
by rviteri
I'm assuming there is no fix for this, right?

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:14 am
by bajodel
what voltage are you using on that boards ?

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:43 am
by noyo
what voltage are you using on that boards ?
one site MT shows 27.3V
one site MT shows 26.6V

in a few places we use MeanWell AD-155B
other original power of mt 24V

Re: Something freezes mikrotik in v6 & frequent watchdog-reb

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:24 am
by pampi
what voltage are you using on that boards ?
one site MT shows 27.3V
one site MT shows 26.6V

in a few places we use MeanWell AD-155B
other original power of mt 24V
I found our problem is that we create compact backups from routers every night with an external linux script, the script execute a command /export compat file=routername.backup when this command is executed, router sometime reboots with, software watchdog problem.

It is also possible to to cause it (not all the time) when I try to run this in winbox terminal window.

Possible that you have something like this?