Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Total connections limit?

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:23 am

Hi

I found something strange. I have wifi network with about 600 customers. Mikrotik (now 2.9.24) shows maximum 2049 total connections (for all clients). One time saw 2051. Not more. I was try disable all limits on my mt (conn limits, queues, proxy, p2p etc). Still max 2049 connections. How is it?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:26 am

maybe there simply are no more connections :) are there any problems or is this just a number?
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:34 am

hmmm. Isnt simple problem. I have 12/12 mbit internet connection. Even without all limitations (queues, connections) my link not go more then 6/6 mbit. Dont know how to do. Cut off link and save some money or looking how to change this conn limit (i think users cant use full internet link speed becouse 2049 conn limit exists?)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:41 am

I don't understand your problem. Why do you think that there is some limit? maybe all users down download stuff at the same time. Maybe not all of them use the internet at the same time. This is not a way to diagnose your network. You have to go down to one of the clients, and run some speed tests from there
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:48 am

I explain little :
Isnt only my single fact. 12/12 mbit link is my main gate, also I have secondary gate in my network. Normaly used for crazy p2p users (its DSL 512/2048). How many connections show ip fire conn print ? 2048. My friend using DSL on his network (DSL 640/8192) and told the same. 2048 max connections (about 120 people network). I dont know what to think about this... Isnt just problem for me. Im only interesting how is it.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:52 am

where do you see this number, can you show me the command output?
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:54 am

sure:

last few lines after command ip firewall connections print without-paging :

2041 SA udp 192.168.0.60:4672 66.180.205.52:4672 2m36s
2042 SA udp 192.168.0.60:4672 207.212.26.208:4672 2m58s
2043 SA tcp 192.168.9.56:4763 84.6.195.66:8757 established 9h12m20s
2044 SA tcp 192.168.9.5:1059 82.103.215.110:46288 established 9h59m22s
2045 SA tcp 192.168.9.5:1067 217.17.41.92:8074 established 9h58m36s
2046 S tcp 195.117.185.24:443 62.233.231.58:1162 close 9h7m43s
2047 SA tcp 192.168.4.153:1035 217.17.41.93:443 established 9h57m27s
2048 SA tcp 192.168.0.92:3579 68.188.66.43:50969 established 9h12m40s

I mean numbers first from left.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:16 am

what do you see when you type this:
ip firewall connection tracking> print
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:20 am

heh. i give up :/

enabled: yes
tcp-syn-sent-timeout: 2m
tcp-syn-received-timeout: 1m
tcp-established-timeout: 10h
tcp-fin-wait-timeout: 2m
tcp-close-wait-timeout: 1m
tcp-last-ack-timeout: 30s
tcp-time-wait-timeout: 2m
tcp-close-timeout: 10s
udp-timeout: 30s
udp-stream-timeout: 3m
icmp-timeout: 30s
generic-timeout: 10m
tcp-syncookie: no
max-entries: 2027520
total-entries: 5199

5199 ? wtf?
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:34 am

Listen mate,

this is definitely not RouterOS problem but rather on your provider side.
Try setting established tcp connection timeout to 01:00:00 (1 hour)
instead of 5days or whatever is set in you router. This will release
established connections and free more space. I suspect your provider!

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
Gotmoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:56 am

Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:41 am

i have 10 hours now but Normis shows whats up with connections. Track shows more than 5000 conn and second value 2mil it may be max counted connections for me. command ip fire conn print wit shows only first 2049 connections i think so...
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24381
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Jun 14, 2006 12:58 pm

I can confirm that we have set a limit on number of displayed connections to not overload the router. The acual number of connections is shown in the other command that i gave you.
 
User avatar
LatinSuD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Total connections limit?

Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:20 pm

Is there a way to override this display limit, even temporarily?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aveliky, barracuda, Google [Bot], normis and 120 guests