Community discussions

 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 3:34 pm

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone was using a PowerRouter v3 and could give me an idea on how its performance/reliability has been.
We had an utter fiasco trying to use a CCR with 2 full BGP feeds and about 200Mb+ of traffic (constant kernel panics) so we are looking for a replacement piece of hardware.
Will the PowerRouter with only its 8 cores be able to handle that much traffic? Is BGP on x86 still limited to a single core like it is on CCR?

Thanks.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 3:36 pm

Only initial loading of the BGP table is done on one core. Actual routing works on all cores, as do most other operations in RouterOS.

Kernel panics are not related to hardware. It would be interesing to see which RouterOS version you were using, maybe there was a known bug that was fixed.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:00 pm

Your reply from your support guys was that it was 'defective RAM' which I found hard to believe since I had 2 units that supposedly had 'defective RAM'.
Also, testing the RAM myself with Memtest86 revealed no errors.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:17 pm

anything is possible, maybe it was just a suggestion what to test? I have to see the ticket to tell for sure why they said that
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:21 pm

Ticket#2014100166000455
 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:11 pm

Also if anyone has used the MW-RM1300-i7 - Routermaxx 8 Port Gigabit Core i7 Router I would like to hear about it as well.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Wed Nov 12, 2014 7:55 pm

jml

Have you tried a netinstall on your CCR's ?

We have had three that were rebooting due to kernel panics, all three were fixed with a netinstall to RouterOS 6.19
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
jml
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 3:22 am

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:41 pm

I haven't tried netinstall yet.
I'll give that a go as well.
 
faisali
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Anyone using a PowerRouter v3?

Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:10 am

Also if anyone has used the MW-RM1300-i7 - Routermaxx 8 Port Gigabit Core i7 Router I would like to hear about it as well.

What would you like to know ?

We have been using core2duo based units (powerrouter or routermaxx), some of them we have recently replaced with the i7 Versions (needed to to 10g interfaces).

Yes, x86 perform much better than CCR for eBGP, we were running 7 full peers on the core2duo ..
Core2Duo based units will easily handle 700meg to a 1gig of traffic.
Our internal testing shows i7 based units will handle up to 10g as longs as pps is less than 1.2 mil
Core2Duo's will load a full bgp table in about 30-40 seconds.
the i7 will do it in about 15 seconds.

Any other questions ?

:)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: belits17 and 42 guests