Page 1 of 1

pcq shaping

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:35 am
by Equis
Hello

I use pcq shaping to equilize batdwidth among users, this was not working untill I discovered..

I have 1000kbps pipe from isp
I have to set max pipe to 800k with mikrotik for pcq to work

I think this is becasue I canont stop incomming traffic to my gateway from the internet, only outgoing to my lan from isp

So incomming to my border gateway is getting shaped by my isp before it even gets to my gateway

I set to 800k and all is fine (it never hits the isp shaper) but this is a waste of 200k for me

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:20 am
by ManyX
I have the same problem.
Currently I used this scripts
http://www.inet.ll.pl but I need do this on Mikrotik.

Maybe some examples from Mikrotik team.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:13 pm
by samsoft08
so lets pray for some PCQ examples from the holy MT team , the main problem i'm facing is when i enabled the web-proxy , the PCQ goes in a deep sleep and the Q tree in a long vacation , it's goes out of thier hands when i enabled web-proxy , no real band controling , if anybody knows anything about this let's know for MT sake.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:04 pm
by ManyX
you shoud realy try this scripts http://www.inet.ll.pl
I used it on PII 350 with 150 users and I am in shock how it works.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:18 pm
by ManyX
you shoud realy try this scripts http://www.inet.ll.pl
I used it on PII 350 with 150 users and I am in shock how it works.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:58 pm
by Equis
with web proxy woudl need to be in dirrent que than the other ports

So mangle everthing but not proxy and pcq
then add proxy to its own queue

Then add both to a parent

I think.....

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:00 am
by Equis
you shoud realy try this scripts http://www.inet.ll.pl
I used it on PII 350 with 150 users and I am in shock how it works.

Hi Thanks for this but I dont know the language the site is in.

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:05 am
by Equis
so lets pray for some PCQ examples from the holy MT team , the main problem i'm facing is when i enabled the web-proxy , the PCQ goes in a deep sleep and the Q tree in a long vacation , it's goes out of thier hands when i enabled web-proxy , no real band controling , if anybody knows anything about this let's know for MT sake.
The Wiki has some sample, so does the manual, teh only probelm is they still don't address my problem or your problem.

It may be just we are config mistake, but I try many configs

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:20 pm
by samsoft08
i read the examples there , but its a very basic examples ..
is our problems are so hard to solve ? we must know if its possible or not ..at least .. so we can move to another package ..
i guess it is not that hard :
when mangling the packets , its mangle everything even the proxy packets i guess , and thats ok .. but in Q tree it doesnt count the packets wich it goes to proxy , this means we cant bandwidth control them , and they become out of control ..

we just need a config from an expert , a tested config , how to include the packets wich goes to proxy , include it in Q tree counts .. that easy ..