Page 1 of 1

Wisp Routing or Bridging

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:56 pm
by sakirozkan
Hi i have a wisp company and i have 400 costumer now.
In the centre i have ccr1036. Syslog server and dmasoft radius server. i have 5 pop tower. I use qrt and sextant for tower links. I use bridged network for links and towers.
Which is the best one bridge network or route network for wisp?
And how can i make a routing for pppoe.

Re: Wisp Routing or Bridging

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:40 pm
by lambert
Routing. Always.

You can setup VLANs from each AP back to the CCR1036 if you don't want to put a router at each tower. That will keep you from having one huge broadcast domain. If you run PPPoE on the CCR, you will be okay, as long as the back-hauls are managed via a separate VLAN than is used to transport your customer traffic. Watch your L2MTUs if you start adding VLAN tags to your links.

It is okay to bridge from router at the bottom of one tower to the router at the bottom of the next tower. So your QRTs and Sextants can be pure bridge devices. However, you do not want all devices on your network to be in the same bridge/broadcast domain with all the other devices on your network.

This may be the time for you to investigate MPLS if you are doing PPPoE.

Tomas Kirnak gave a very good presentation on this at MUM US2013:

http://www.tiktube.com/video/KHhE3aEKdD ... sDlIoFqoq=

Re: Wisp Routing or Bridging

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:31 am
by sakirozkan
Can u give me a suggestion for mpls. Which routerboards can i use? Rb450 , 850, 1100 vs.
And do u give a script for some tower router. How can i program ap's and ptp links? Thanks

Re: Wisp Routing or Bridging

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:31 am
by lambert
RTFW. If you have specific questions after reading the fine wiki, http://wiki.MikroTik.com/, someone may be able to offer assistance.