Community discussions

 
Spencer77
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:05 pm

(Another) Dual WAN Setup Help

Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:43 pm

First time poster - long time reader. I've learned lots from the forums, but I'm stuck on this one.

I have a desire to have a dual WAN configuration that would fit this setup:
ISP1 / DHCP / would normally handle traffic for all computers/servers
ISP2 / PPPoE / would normally handle traffic for the VoIP phones.

First of all, I can't figure out how to successfully route some traffic out of one interface, and other traffic out of another. I need some help there.

Secondly, and this is where the word "normally" comes in for traffic plan, I'd also like this configuration to be able to survive the failure of one of the WANs. (I know that the phones would have to re-resister / that's OK and it's handled)

In most cases I'll be using RB951Ui-2HnD for these deployments, running 6.21 (the latest release we've tested and works bug-free with everything we do with RouterOS, so far).

Thanks in advance!
 
User avatar
43north
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 7:06 am

Re: (Another) Dual WAN Setup Help

Sun Nov 30, 2014 9:43 am

Tag as I am curious also.
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: (Another) Dual WAN Setup Help

Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 pm

If you assign different address ranges to the 2 sets of equipment then you can use a route rule to lookup in a different routing table, and then have a different default route in that table.

To cope with fallback add a 2nd default route via the other connection with a bigger distance

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests