Community discussions

 
semenko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:37 pm

Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:36 pm

DHCP allows the server to forcibly send options to clients, even when they aren't requested.

This is supported in ~all other DHCP servers, including ISC ("dhcp-parameter-request-list") and dnsmasq ("--dhcp-option-force").

There are a lot of use cases, including:
- Setting pxeboot and netboot parameters
- Telling Android clients to use less bandwidth ("ANDROID_METERED" via option 43)
- Setting specific routes, e.g. for client isolation, by sending Option 121
- Setting interface MTUs (for jumbo frame networks, or networks with downstream encapsulation, etc.)

This feature has been requested a few times on the forum, and is the only reason we can't currently use Mikrotik's DHCPd -- and instead have to run our own dnsmasq installation.

Would love to see it in ROS v6 or v7.
 
jinzhanhua
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:05 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:03 pm

+10000

I need this feature too
 
colin
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 11:11 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:14 am

+10000

I need this feature too
 
VK2XXY
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:01 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sat May 07, 2016 1:49 pm

+100000

I need this feature too
 
ChangzhouC
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:29 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:39 pm

+1 for 'Force sending of DHCP options to clients'
 
thief
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:13 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:44 pm

+1 for 'Force sending of DHCP options to clients'

Can't boot pxelinux without 209 and 210 options, but mikrotik don't force it.
 
umount
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:52 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:54 am

+1
really need this feature.
other routers like merlin, openwrt, ddwrt etc all support this feature.
really hope mikrotik can support it too.
thanks!
 
coorme
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:44 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:48 pm

+1

This feature REALLY DOES SOMETHING to my home network.
My IPTV box need to be sent the option 60 and option 125.


Big thanks!!!
 
User avatar
juliokato
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:27 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:57 pm

+1

I need DHCP option 160 for Captive Portal ID (https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc7710)
I apologize my grammatical errors, my english not so good, I am not a native speaker.
Wiki is maintained in English. I use Google translator. 8)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:52 pm

Unclear. How is this different from the already available option here?
[admin@mt] /ip dhcp-client option> add code=60 name=stuff value=0x18A000000A016501000A016501 
[admin@mt] /ip dhcp-client> set 0 dhcp-options=stuff 
this should be compatible with IPoE and such
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1188
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Apr 04, 2017 4:56 pm

Unclear. How is this different from the already available option here?
According to what OP wrote, it differs in that this options are only sent if client explicitly requests them. And it seems there are DHCP clients in the wild that do respect some options on receive even if they don't requested them.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5944
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:51 pm

I do not think that forcing all options to all clients is a good idea, however conditional vendor specific options based on vendor class id (opt 60), would be nice feature to have.
 
ourgreen
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:21 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:41 am

It is very helpful for some iptv box in china will check the option 125 value but it do not send the option request, some dhcp server such as dnsmasq widely used in other system as merlin,openwrt,tomato also support ""force option", we hope ros can support the feature so I could no longer need another ddwrt based router to provide dhcpd as I used now.
 
mathiasAichinger
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:46 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:50 am

+1 That would be a great feature for us. We need to force send the DHCP Option 43 to our CPEs, because some CPEs are not requesting it explicitly. I think it should be an optional checkmark for every DHCP option. Here the code what we are doing on our isc-dhcp:
option dhcp-parameter-request-list = concat(option dhcp-parameter-request-list,2b);
append dhcp-parameter-request-list 43;
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:08 am

Isn't this in general a case of "my client is broken so please fix your server"?
It would be better to send change requests to the client manufacturer to tell them to request the options they support in the reply.
(after all, that is the idea behind the protocol)
 
uavana
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:31 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:37 am

Isn't this in general a case of "my client is broken so please fix your server"?
It would be better to send change requests to the client manufacturer to tell them to request the options they support in the reply.
(after all, that is the idea behind the protocol)
When you need it , it will be really useful.
And that's the only reason why i don't use ROS as the system of my main Router.
In China millions user need to force add option-125 to activate our IPTV devices, and UBNT OpenWRT dnsmasq both support force-dhcp-options to against our ISP.
Only ROS can't do this.
 
pear28
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:15 pm

Isn't this in general a case of "my client is broken so please fix your server"?
It would be better to send change requests to the client manufacturer to tell them to request the options they support in the reply.
(after all, that is the idea behind the protocol)
When you need it , it will be really useful.
And that's the only reason why i don't use ROS as the system of my main Router.
In China millions user need to force add option-125 to activate our IPTV devices, and UBNT OpenWRT dnsmasq both support force-dhcp-options to against our ISP.
Only ROS can't do this.
Yes,I am from China.
Because of the china telecom 4K IPTV devices need force option-125.
I have google "ros force dhcp option" since 2016.
Now time is 2018 , it disappointed me again .
 
pear28
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:20 pm

It is very helpful for some iptv box in china will check the option 125 value but it do not send the option request, some dhcp server such as dnsmasq widely used in other system as merlin,openwrt,tomato also support ""force option", we hope ros can support the feature so I could no longer need another ddwrt based router to provide dhcpd as I used now.
agree
I use Raspberry Pi with dnsmasq to be the dhcp server.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:25 pm

Because of the china telecom 4K IPTV devices need force option-125.
I have google "ros force dhcp option" since 2016.
Now time is 2018 , it disappointed me again .
Ok but why don't you request china telecom to put the option 125 request in the DHCP request packet?
That would be the normal way of handling a DHCP option.
When china telecom does not honor this request in 2 years time, you can write them that you are disappointed.
But writing here that you are disappointed that MikroTik is not supporting devices that break the protocol seems a little unfounded.
(even when other manufacturers do that)
 
namex
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:38 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:05 am

+1

Hello, I need this feature, too.
I have an Service Access Router from Nokia, this Router would discover the IP address from the dhcp server. But it need's the option 58 and 59 in the offer.
I've wiresharked the requests and don't see the options, so I added to the options in the list and make an optionset and add this to the the dhcp server configuration.
But the ROS didn't add it to the offer.
I tested it with an other option like 121 "classless", and this works. It will be offered in the response without the client didn't requested it.

Are there any hope that these functions will be available in next ROS Versions or did I some mistakes?

Many thanks!
 
BRMateus2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:39 am

+1;
 
dattl
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:57 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:27 pm

+1
I run around 100 small Mikrotiks for just simple tasks and now I bought a bigger one where I have 100 devices connected wich need the DHCP-Options to be forced without request.
Can any developer please add this feature to DHCP-Server
 
pear28
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:00 am

Because of the china telecom 4K IPTV devices need force option-125.
I have google "ros force dhcp option" since 2016.
Now time is 2018 , it disappointed me again .
Ok but why don't you request china telecom to put the option 125 request in the DHCP request packet?
That would be the normal way of handling a DHCP option.
When china telecom does not honor this request in 2 years time, you can write them that you are disappointed.
But writing here that you are disappointed that MikroTik is not supporting devices that break the protocol seems a little unfounded.
(even when other manufacturers do that)

china telecom doesn`t want you to use your own router ,so they make the dhcp option problem .
you can use the router , which they provide and under their supervision, without the dhcp option problem.
You have limited access to their router . you only can change the Lan ip ,dhcp pool ,ssid and pw.
static pat ? no
vpn ? no
firewall ? no
qos ? no
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:17 pm

It should be super to select wich option to FORCE in the DHCP server settings

+1
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
DummyPLUG
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:17 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:57 pm

Because of the china telecom 4K IPTV devices need force option-125.
I have google "ros force dhcp option" since 2016.
Now time is 2018 , it disappointed me again .
Ok but why don't you request china telecom to put the option 125 request in the DHCP request packet?
That would be the normal way of handling a DHCP option.
When china telecom does not honor this request in 2 years time, you can write them that you are disappointed.
But writing here that you are disappointed that MikroTik is not supporting devices that break the protocol seems a little unfounded.
(even when other manufacturers do that)

china telecom doesn`t want you to use your own router ,so they make the dhcp option problem .
you can use the router , which they provide and under their supervision, without the dhcp option problem.
You have limited access to their router . you only can change the Lan ip ,dhcp pool ,ssid and pw.
static pat ? no
vpn ? no
firewall ? no
qos ? no
Not only in China, see the same behavior with Telus 4K set-top box, not sure if that apply to all set-top box or just new install in my area
 
sjtuross
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:38 am

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Sat Jun 15, 2019 4:55 pm

+10000

Please give this option!!!

Alternatively, if Mikrotik can support dhcp option 55 which allows defining which options to send, we can work around this issue. But it is no possible either.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5930
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:50 pm

When there is some option that fixes your problem, you can add it. That has been possible for a long time.
 
pear28
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Feature request: Force sending of DHCP options to clients

Thu Nov 14, 2019 5:32 pm

It`s end of 2019 , still don`t have the force dhcp option . I don`t think it`s a difficult feature .Please add it .

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 115 guests