Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:34 pm

I need that mikrotik to support 10Gb VMWARE VMXNET3 driver. My network become bigger, I am using more mikrotik routers (SXT2.4-5, AC....), and the gatways for all them are 4pcs of CCR1036. CCR1036 cant NAT big trafic(700-800Mbps) properly. So I have HP server (2CPU-each 6core ) ESXi 5.5 installed with 10Gb port in wich i need to run Router OS with VMXNET3 network card for the further development of the network.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:45 pm

+1 for me

My largest network uses a quad core Xeon running ESXi 5.5 for routing. I would love the VMXNET3 support. As well as the rest of the tools.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
class889
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 9:24 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:21 pm

i'd love that as well!
 
x7007
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:57 pm

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:42 pm

Me too , want the options
 
plentyofbug
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:22 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:24 pm

+1 mee too!
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Wed Mar 04, 2015 3:04 pm

Last test results. I got 5 GBit on the E1000 ethernet driver. Everything are shown on the pictures.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by realtime on Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
bajodel
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:25 pm

Could you tell which 10 Gbit SFP+ physical adapter and which SFP+ module do you use ?
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:48 pm

Could you tell which 10 Gbit SFP+ physical adapter and which SFP+ module do you use ?
Broadcom NetXtreame II BCM57712
I don't use SPF module at moment. The servers connected directly with SFP+ DAC cable. Like this http://www.sfpex.com/image/cache/data/p ... 00x500.jpg
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:42 pm

Hallelujah!
What's new in 6.31 (2015-Aug-14 15:42):
......
*) demo mode of Cloud Hosted Router (CHR) added
*) chr - added x86_64 image for use in virtual environments
*) chr - added support for VMware SCSI virtual disks
*) chr - added support for VMware vmxnet3 network card
*) chr - added support for HyperV SCSI disks
*) chr - added support for HyperV Ethernet interfaces
*) chr - added support for virtio disks
.....
Thanks to mikrotik TEAM!!!

net adapter added!
so.. next question :) when do mikrotik best CPU usage results on x86 ? :) look like local bandwith test (to 127.0.0.1 or between 2 virtual mashines connected with virtual switch) more than 2.7Gb/s ?
because 10gbe net adapter must work with 10gbe bandwidth :)
for example bandwith between two debian virtual mashines is about 150Gbit (iperf 10 sessions, standart packet size)
Last edited by realtime on Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:49 am

Bandwith-test in RouterOS is not very efficient way on how to generate traffic. Anyway, you can configure RPS and assign CPUs directly to IRQ that is working with the interface to optimize for performance if you are not satisfied. Later on when CHR has licensing available we will be able to properly test speed it can provide on x86_64 kernel.
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:53 pm

Bandwith-test in RouterOS is not very efficient way on how to generate traffic. Anyway, you can configure RPS and assign CPUs directly to IRQ that is working with the interface to optimize for performance if you are not satisfied.
I usually disable RPC.
Tell me please how to set up a x86_64 mikrotik in virtual machine for maximum throughput in bridge mode? I will test throughput between two debian machines and mikrotik bridge in the middle
 
AlexS
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:21 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:33 am

I saw this a bit late.

I have tried to install vmxnet3 nic and well it doesn't show up in the interface interface.

I need to move to vmxnet3 as the input buffer for the e1000 is to small, I have a very bursty multicast service that drops packets on the E1000. Had to move to a hand built linux box with a vmxnet3 nic.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:16 pm

The change is only for CHR http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=98981
Not for install from ISO
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:17 am

abc
Last edited by realtime on Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
realtime
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:50 am

Re: 10Gb VMXNET3 driver support request

Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:16 am

The change is only for CHR http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=98981
Not for install from ISO
Dear Normis what about throughput over mikrotik in CHR in simple bridge mode or how many traffic can be NAT-ed in licensed CHR? For example creating server with one CPU and 2000 Mhz.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: evince, Google [Bot], keithstarrate, skylark and 144 guests