Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
JOFO
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:41 pm

Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:47 pm

Hi, I can't seem to make RouterOS v6.27 workon MB Gigabyte J1900N-D3V. Installed ROS on USB stick which works fine in other mobo (different brand) but in this mobo it throws error "Could not find disk. Please attach to another...". I tried to netinstall fresh ROS v6.27 but after boot it throws error it can't find harddisk.. Tried different configs (other USB port, USB2, USB3, emulate HDD), upgraded BIOS to newest but none helped.. Could someone help?
thanks
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:17 pm

Isn't disk configured as AHCI ? Try to set it as IDE or Compatibile mode. Try to set SATA controller to IDE mode ...anything what "fools" the ROS that there is an old supported ATA controller.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
JOFO
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:41 pm

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:05 pm

It's on USB stick so SATA mode doesn't matter.. If I create install USB from netinstall it boots but ends up with error that no harddisk was found..Same USB stick is booting and installs on another mobo
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:21 pm

Having the same issues on a J1900 device. Only CDRom device is not found after kernel booted.
That's the device I have: http://hamsing.com/product/html/?39.html

I get exactly this error message: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=21240#p397501


Any hints ?
If you folks have a alpha image, let me know. As I don't yet use this device, I can test around a lot (And, working from home, I can always take 5 minutes to test it out).
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:05 pm

There is no IDE compatibility set for HDD in the BIOS.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:29 pm

What about to try vmware vsphere type 1 hypervisor and run CHR virtually?
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Fri Sep 09, 2016 8:13 pm

Got it running using netinstall.
Details: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 50#p556389
Problem are all USB Ports. As soon as the kernel boots up - no device attached to USB still works.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Fri Sep 09, 2016 10:46 pm

The BIOS needs USB Legacy support (DOS Mode) enabled to boot from a USB device.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:03 pm

The BIOS needs USB Legacy support (DOS Mode) enabled to boot from a USB device.
Tried it Legacy (DOS mode explicitely does not exist/not mentioned) - doesn't work.
Whatever boots and has an old kernel - loses USB. Probably a UEFI BIOS bug.
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:54 pm

I have only found a few boards with UEFI that will handle legacy USB well. Most being Intel or SuperMicro. I don't think I've ever had success with any off-brand.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
smurphy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Clermont / France
Contact:

Re: Cant use RouterOS on J1900 mobo

Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:30 am

I have only found a few boards with UEFI that will handle legacy USB well. Most being Intel or SuperMicro. I don't think I've ever had success with any off-brand.
Same for me... I have tried all kind of low-power boards in the past, starting with C3 CPU's from VIA. Theses were a real nightmare.
Usually the NUC's from intel are very nice - only they don't have enough Ethernet ports. Reason I looked for something else...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: darkprocess, JRLL, kivimart, Znevna and 98 guests