Page 1 of 1

Request: Use less memory

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:27 am
by kmok1
I use mostly MIPSBE stuff. When I update units from ROS5 to ROS6, I notice each unit uses approximately 7-9 MB more in RAM. I have many RB750 and RB750UP units in the field that contain 32 MB. They ran fine under ROS5. With ROS6, each unit usually has < 8MB of free RAM to work with. Also I notice funny thing happens when free memory falls less then 5 MB, usually result with a reboot.

I like to see that ROS7 use less memory.

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:37 pm
by jarda
It's thing I talked about several times on this forum.

Re: Request: Use less memory

Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:48 am
by bajodel
I understand your point of view, but today memory price and software functionality need .. it's simpler to put more memory onto those devices..
I don't really understand why mikrotik are still building devices with less than 128MB, what would be the price increase? ..5 bucks?

Re: Request: Use less memory

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 8:52 pm
by kmok1
Bajodel,

Today, I would not buy anything less than 64 MB of RAM. But stated in my original post, I have many RB routers that are operational with 32 MB. It is unfeasible to replace them till they are broke.

I do agree with you that all models of professional routers should have at least 128 MB. I can do a lot more with 128 MB. Maybe it is time for them to retire the RB750 series.